Young guns win pres­ti­gious medals

Albany Advertiser - - SPORT - Cameron New­bold

Pow­er­ful Al­bany mid­fielder Bryce Blaszkow and classy ball win­ner Harry Crane capped ter­rific sea­sons by win­ning the Rod Gillies and War­rick Proudlove medals re­spec­tively on Tues­day night.

The Rod Gillies Medal for the fairest and best colts player in the Great South­ern Foot­ball League was a tight count through­out but the dom­i­nant Sharks player polled best-on-ground per­for­mances in round 14 and 15 of the reg­u­lar sea­son to stitch up the award.

Blaszkow hit the front by the end of round 10, shar­ing the lead with Roy­als’ Ri­vah Bo­cian with five games re­main­ing. How­ever, seven votes in those fi­nal five rounds were enough for Blaszkow to pre­vail, polling 22 votes to win by four.

Li­ons big man Jaike Dale fin- ished in sec­ond place on 18 votes, while hard-nosed Rail­ways mid­fielder Rory Gibbs was third on 16.

Bo­cian failed to poll in the last five rounds and was fourth with 15 votes, fol­lowed by team­mate Shane Buss (13 votes), Sharks’ Zainel Bin Busu (11), North Al­bany’s early leader Ted Batch­e­lor (10) and Zamahl Bin Busu (10).

Blaszkow played un­der-17s for the Sharks in 2015 and made his league de­but that year be­fore play­ing six league games last sea­son.

He played all 15 colts games this sea­son and kicked eight goals.

Mean­while, Li­ons young­ster Crane polled con­sis­tently in the War­rick Proudlove Medal count to win the six­teens fairest and best award.

Crane led after five rounds and was just two votes clear of a chas­ing pack that in­cluded Poch Amores, Mitch O’Neill and Liam Park with five rounds to play. How­ever, he fin­ished the sea­son in bril­liant fash­ion, in­clud­ing best-afield ef­forts in rounds 11, 12 and 14.

Crane played in 10 of a pos­si­ble 12 reg­u­lar matches and col­lected 23 votes to win the award from team­mate Amores, Tigers mid­fielder O’Neill and ag­ile Den­mark-Walpole tall Park, who all polled 14 votes. Sharks duo Tris­tan Loo (38 goals) and Kieran Gowdie (20) were pre­sented the colts and six­teens goal- kick­ing awards re­spec­tively.

Great South­ern Storm an­nounced Hamish McMor­ran as their Great South­ern player of the car­ni­val at the Land­mark cham­pi­onships, while Bran­don Woods was player of the car­ni­val at the Great South­ern Colts Car­ni­val.

Pic­ture: Cameron New­bold

War­rick Proudlove Medal win­ner Harry Crane (Roy­als) and Rod Gillies Medal win­ner Bryce Blaszkow (Al­bany).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.