Si­mon Maquire

Alpine Observer - - News -

What is your job?

I’m a building de­signer. That means I do ev­ery­thing from tiny lit­tle renovations and decks through to big multi-storey devel­op­ments.

Is it some­thing you al­ways wanted to do?

It’s al­ways been about de­sign. I’ve done graphic de­sign at uni, I stud­ied ar­chi­tec­ture at uni, I stud­ied in­dus­trial de­sign at uni. I’ve al­ways loved de­sign, from mag­a­zines to houses.

I come from the north coast of NSW – a place called Old Bar I went to school there then to the Univer­sity of New­cas­tle, where I lived for 10 or 11 years. That’s when I met my part­ner and we had our lit­tle girl. In New­cas­tle I free­lanced graphic de­sign for a time, I worked in cafes – I owned a café for a while.

How do you come to be in Mt Beauty?

Af­ter we had our lit­tle girl we de­cided af­ter many hol­i­day trips that we re­ally con­nected with the peo­ple here and de­cided we wanted our child to grow up here in a sim­i­lar way to our own child­hoods.

At one stage I was work­ing for an ar­chi­tect in New­cas­tle and came down here to look at a block of land for a po­ten­tial client.

I went home and two weeks later we packed a truck with our be­long­ings and came here. Have you had trou­ble get­ting work?

Not at all. For a seem­ingly lit­tle place there’s so much you can do. We were in Falls Creek for a few years man­ag­ing prop­erty. It was re­ally en­joy­able and al­lowed us to have the life­style that we wanted. We have been grad­u­ally mov­ing down the moun­tain. This will be the first win­ter we’ve spent off the moun­tain for six years. What do you love about the job? It’s very var­ied. I love de­sign­ing houses – I love cre­at­ing a space for a fam­ily. I love the di­a­logue that hap­pens be­tween a client and my­self about cre­at­ing a space that they are happy to ex­ist in. I love the way every­one is so dif­fer­ent in how they live.

We are very for­tu­nate here with four def­i­nite sea­sons. You can play with that; the way light and warmth come into a room. I love the way that all these re­ally cool things can be achieved in a very sim­ple shed. It doesn’t have to be an ex­pen­sive man­sion to have that space for your morn­ing cof­fee or that place where a bird comes to sit.

What do you do in your spare time? I ride my mo­tor­bike. I spend a lot of time walk­ing the moun­tain trails with my lit­tle girl and my dog which I ab­so­lutely love. Ski­ing is still a favourite. If there is any spare time, we like to do things as a fam­ily.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.