Lisa Drew

Alpine Observer - - News -

What is your job?

I am a prop­erty man­ager at Alpine Val­ley Real Es­tate, and I also do sales. Prop­erty man­age­ment is about man­ag­ing the rental prop­er­ties, deal­ing with land­lords and ten­ants, mak­ing sure the houses are safe and in good con­di­tion and that the ten­ants pay their rent. We have about 150 long term and hol­i­day rentals and we also deal with stor­age sheds.

Is it some­thing you al­ways wanted to do?

No, prob­a­bly not, though I have al­ways been in­volved in sales and I feel I am a very much a peo­ple per­son. My first job was with the ar­chi­tects build­ing the Monash Med­i­cal Cen­tre, and then I be­came a per­sonal as­sis­tant at the stock­bro­kers J B Weir. From there I went to Philip Mor­ris and was with them for 10 years.

How did you come to live in the Kiewa Val­ley?

At Philip Mor­ris I looked af­ter their vend­ing ma­chines and that brought me to Falls Creek where I met a guy there. We had a long-dis­tance re­la­tion­ship, and then de­cided to try out a closer re­la­tion­ship so I moved to Mt Beauty. That re­la­tion­ship didn’t work out and later I met my hus­band, David. We met walk­ing our pup­pies, and were puppy-walk­ing friends for at least eight months be­fore it went any fur­ther. We were mar­ried at An­na­purna and had the re­cep­tion at The Brick, as it was then. I was work­ing for PFD, a food dis­tri­bu­tion com­pany based in Al­bury, and I’ve had lots of dif­fer­ent jobs around town while my chil­dren were grow­ing up. Kim got me to come and work here five or six years ago.

What do you love about the job?

I like the in­ter­ac­tion with peo­ple. You also walk into work every day and you don’t know what’s go­ing to hap­pen. There’s some­thing dif­fer­ent every day. I re­ally en­joy prop­erty sales be­cause peo­ple get so ex­cited, and I am so happy to have helped them achieve this new chap­ter in their lives. It’s sim­i­lar with rental prop­er­ties. I feel that I’m not just pro­mot­ing the prop­er­ties but the whole area and the life­style.

What do you do in your spare time?

I run LD’s Home Pet Care. We care for pets in their own homes so peo­ple can go away and not stress. It’s for peo­ple who can’t or don’t want to put their an­i­mals in ken­nels. We visit twice a day and feed them, talk to them, pat them and walk them. We look af­ter mostly cats and dogs but also chick­ens, birds, rab­bits, horses and cows. I have a back­ground in horses so I feel con­fi­dent with them. We’ve been do­ing that for 14 years. Apart from all that I run my daugh­ters around to their dif­fer­ent ac­tiv­i­ties.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.