Duns­bor­ough named T20 comp cham­pi­ons

Augusta Margaret River Times - - Times Sport - Chloe Fraser

Duns­bor­ough were crowned cham­pi­ons in the Bus­sel­ton-Mar­garet River Cricket As­so­ci­a­tion’s in­au­gu­ral T20 com­pe­ti­tion, de­feat­ing YOBS in the A and B-grade grand fi­nals at Barnard Park on Satur­day.

B-grade were first cab off the rank, with Duns­bor­ough win­ning the toss and bat­ting first.

YOBS’ Ky Spowart led the charge early with two wick­ets, but Chris Dud­ley and cap­tain Ian Pur­cell put Duns­bor­ough in a great po­si­tion with a part­ner­ship of 79 in a to­tal of 4-128.

Pur­cel made 36, while Dud­ley fin­ished un­beaten on 46.

Si­mon Go­dridge and Ethan Pig­gott kept hopes alive for YOBS. Pig­ott belted 82 not out and Go­dride made a use­ful 20.

It all came down to Pete Mor­ris’ bowl­ing. He took a vi­tal wicket and YOBS were left at 3-115, just 13 runs short of vic­tory. In the A-grade match, YOBS’ Ben Clarke hit 26, Troy­den Thorp hit 19 and Haig Colombera con­trib­uted 30 runs from 22 balls as YOBS were dis­missed for 101.

Duns­bor­ough bowlers Josh Rea­gan, Mark Natale, Lach­lan Mil­ton and Nathan Whit­ney each took two wick­ets. Rea­gan also made 39 for his side in a closely con­tested match in which Duns­bor­ough won, mak­ing 8-102 for the loss of two wick­ets.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.