2011 Su­percheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Win­ner

Garth Tan­der/Nick Per­cat

Australian Muscle Car - - Cars That Won Bathurst -

#2 Holden Rac­ing Team Holden Com­modore VE II Chas­sis – WR 014

The last car to claim Bathurst vic­tory from what is now known as Walkin­shaw Rac­ing was this VE II model in 2011.

Now re­stored to its Bathurst-win­ning liv­ery and sit­ting proudly on dis­play in re­cep­tion at the of­fices of Holden Spe­cial Ve­hi­cles in Mel­bourne, the car was orig­i­nally de­buted by Garth Tan­der late in 2010 at Sym­mons Plains and was the sec­ond last ‘old gen­er­a­tion’ V8 Su­per­car chas­sis pro­duced by WR prior to the ‘Car of the Fu­ture’.

Tan­der re­tained the car through­out the 2011 and 2012 sea­sons be­fore it was re­tired from rac­ing at the end of 2012, with its last race (start­ing from pole po­si­tion no less) at the Syd­ney 500.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.