The con­tenders

Australian Muscle Car - - Immortal Muscle -

The 1977 Hardie-Ferodo 1000 fea­tured the most cos­mopoli­tan driver en­try in the event’s 18-year history to that point with lo­cal stars joined by a long list of in­ter­na­tion­als. Among the driv­ers from over­seas were: Indy 500 win­ner Johnny Rutherford, part­nered with Janet Guthrie (#17); Le Mans win­ners Jacky Ickx (#1) and Henri Pescarolo (#5); English­man John Fitz­patrick (#7); reign­ing Ja­panese Tour­ing Car Cham­pion Yoshimi Katayama; and English Vaux­hall tour­ing car ace Gerry Mar­shall teamed with South African Basil von Rooyen (#24). All up 28 cars fronted for out­right hon­ours: 17 To­ranas and 11 Fal­cons. This was 10 more than in 1976, when just three Fal­cons took on 15 To­ranas. Of the 28 V8s, at least 12 en­tries were well-cre­den­tialed enough to fight for a podium. Lead­ing teams in­cluded:

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.