Five-time Master

Australian Muscle Car - - Muscle Sport -

The tenth sea­son of Tour­ing Car Mas­ters com­pe­ti­tion wrapped up with John Bowe scor­ing his fifth ti­tle. The ev­er­green Bowe’s 50 per­cent strike rate as series cham­pion is all the more im­pres­sive given he didn’t con­test TCM’s in­au­gu­ral sea­son, 2007, his last as a full-time V8 Su­per­car driver. Bowe’s 2016 ti­tle backs up pre­vi­ous suc­cesses in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015. Sea­son 2016 was the first in TCM his­tory that one model of car – a Holden To­rana – won all three classes in the same sea­son, with Adam Gar­wood and Ja­son Gom­er­sall win­ning the Pro Sports and ProAm di­vi­sions re­spec­tively. Bowe won his fourth round of 2016 at the Syd­ney Olympic Park fi­nale, de­spite Steven John­son (XY GT-HO) win­ning two of the three sprints. Glenn Seton (Mus­tang) was sec­ond over­all at SOP and series run­ner-up. The seven-round 2017 TCM sched­ule be­gins in Ade­laide (March 2-5) and con­cludes at the in­au­gu­ral New­cas­tle street race in late Novem­ber. In be­tween are vis­its to Winton, Hid­den Val­ley, Queens­land Race­way, Sandown and Bathurst. A record 10 dif­fer­ent driv­ers and seven dif­fer­ent mod­els of car have won races this year, from four brands (Chevro­let, Ford, Holden, AMC). Cars to have won in­clude the Chevro­let Monza, Fal­con XY GT-HO, Holden To­rana SL/R 5000, Ford Mus­tang, Chevro­let Ca­maro, AMC Javelin and Ford Fal­con XB GT coupe.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.