Tigers go back to back

Benalla Ensign - - Hockey | Golf -

On Satur­day the Be­nalla B-grade men took on SYC in the grand fi­nal.

Be­nalla had 12 play­ers, with for­ward line Latham Carol, Ankur Singh, Martin Gil­lies, Alex Dowe and Robert Dean, mid­field of Shaun Find­low, David McIntyre and Nic Now­land and back line Evan Dowe, Mark Welsh, goal keeper Perry Plex and ro­tat­ing at­tacker Thomas Hill.

The game started like any grand fi­nal is ex­pected to, hard and fast.

The Tigers were at it from the jump af­ter the previous week’s win.

Be­nalla was straight into at­tack at ev­ery turn keep­ing the SYC de­fen­sive line work­ing as hard as it could.

Be­nalla’s mid and back line never gave an inch, push­ing the ball back into at­tack at ev­ery turnover.

It went on like this for much of the first half be­fore the Tigers broke through with a goal by McIntyre af­ter a rolling wall of play from Now­land and Find­low.

Be­nalla end­ing the half one-nil up.

In the sec­ond half the Tigers came out fir­ing, again de­ter­mined to put an­other first goal on the board and put the game out of reach for SYC.

SYC came out de­ter­mined as well to get a goal back and take con­trol of the game.

This meant the ball was go­ing from end to end quickly for both sides.

Thir­teen min­utes into the sec­ond half Be­nalla scored an­other goal through a bril­liant play from Evan and Alex Dowe and fin­ished off by Anker Singh, scor­ing his first ever goal.

He snuck the ball past the keeper’s reach hit­ting the in­side post.

This caused SYC to push hard to come back, re­lent- lessly push­ing into the cir­cle re­sult­ing in mul­ti­ple penalty cor­ners.

Be­nalla’s de­fence held strong, but SYC put a goal on the board to bring the score to 2-1.

SYC kept this pace to the very end not giv­ing up, but the Tigers held strong to take the win. Most Val­ued Player: David McIntyre. Goals: David McIntyre (1), Ankur Singh (1).

Pre­sen­ta­tion night will be Satur­day, Septem­ber 15, start­ing at 6 pm.


With pleas­ant weather con­di­tions, 51 play­ers joined in a sta­ble­ford event.

The best score for the day by David Se­nior was 43 to take out B-grade, while run­ner up Reg Symes se­cured 37 points.

A-grade was taken out on count­back by Ken Muir re­turn­ing on 37 points from Brian Hub­ble with 37 points also on count­back.

In C-grade Rus­sell Day was suc­cess­ful with 42 points plac­ing Brett Dosser sec­ond on 41 points.

Wed­nes­day saw a good field of 61 play­ers com­pete in a sta­ble­field event.

A-grade win­ner was Terry Smith re­turn­ing with 39 points, while sec­ond place went to Larry Pis­cioneri on 36 points.

B-grade went to Wayne Mack­well on 40 points and run­ner up on 37 points was Alan Crox­ford c/b.

Wil­liam Booker was suc­cess­ful in C-grade with 40 points, fol­lowed by Keith Wright on 37 points c/b. Re­sults: Near­est the Pin­s1st Oliv­ers Mens­land : Wil­lis Cox 3rd Crothers’ Join­ery : An­drew Hod­son 8th Srixon/Golf Shop: Rus­sell Day 12th Ray White: Nil 13th Spald­ing/Golf Shop: Wil­lis Cox KFC Birdies: Daryl Quinn NAGA: Brendon Bar­ton Ball Com­pe­ti­tion 41 L. Cairnes, 40 M. Groves,37 Eric Hooli­gan, B. Pey­ton, 36 G. Muir, 35 D. Dun­ster, B. Ferguson, M. Hen­wood, G. Wood­man, 34 W. Mack­well. Re­sults: Wed­nes­day Near­est the Pin­s3rd Golf Shop: Trevor Squires 8th Golf Shop: Ty­rone Kidd 12th Ray White: Terry Symes 13th Fruits ‘n’ Fare: Keith Wright Ball Com­pe­ti­tion 37 I. Fo­letta, M.Groves, B. Macarty, G. Ma­honey, 36 R. DeCrespigny, B. Symes, 35 G. Crothers, G. Har­ri­son, A. May, S. Smith, T. Symes. Count­back.

Womens golf

There was ex­cite­ment at the club re­cently with Lindy Wrest play­ing a hole in one on the eighth hole. Con­grat­u­la­tions to Lindy.

The win­ner of the sta­ble­ford event on Septem­ber 6 was Hazel Briggs with 39 points.

Ball com­pe­ti­tion M. Wat­son 36, J. Brau­man 36, J. Shen­nan 35.

NTP 3rd H. Briggs, Mil­ner-Wat­son Phar­macy 8th H. Briggs, Ray White 12th S. Sykes, Golf Shop 13th J. Ru­bira, 14th J. Brau­man.

The Memo­rial Gar­den four-per­son ag­gre­gate sta­ble­ford spon­sored by R. Watkins, G. Gilchrist, J. Shen­nan and A. Briggs was played on Satur­day Septem­ber 8 with 28 play­ers.

The win­ners were June Brau­man, Rosie Fo­letta, He­len Hy­land and Jo Martin with 138 points.

Run­ners-up were R. Watkins, J.McKean, G. Gilchrist and J. Shen­nan with 136 points.

Balls to L. Ma­son, T. Miskin. C. Gar­ratt and J. O’Brien 135, and H. Briggs, A. Thom­son. M. Mat­son and J. Martin 133.

NTP 3rd R. Fo­letta, 8th H. Hy­land, 12th M. Wat­son, 13th H. Briggs, 14th H. Hy­land.

This week a sta­ble­ford round will be played on Thurs­day and the KFC 4BBB sta­ble­ford on Satur­day.

Tri­umphant: Be­nalla men’s B-grade win­ning team Evan Dowe, David McIntyre, Thomas Hill, Mark Welsh, Ankur Singh, Alex Dowe, Rob Dean, Latham Car­roll, Nic Now­land, Perry Plex, Marty Gil­lies, Shaun Find­low.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.