Business Events News - - News -

MEET­ING & Events Aus­tralia has changed the way the win­ner of its an­nual ‘Out­stand­ing In­dus­try Con­tri­bu­tion Award’ will be se­lected mov­ing for­ward.

Form­ing part of an on­go­ing re­struc­ture of the awards sched­ule, the new award process is de­signed to fur­ther em­power the in­dus­try in the quest to find a stand­out per­former in the events in­dus­try.

“Nom­i­na­tions will be con­fi­den­tial and must be made by a mem­ber of MEA, how­ever, the nom­i­nee does not need to be a mem­ber,” said Robyn John­son, ceo of MEA.

The new se­lec­tion model has been in­flu­enced by the way the Aus­tralian of the Year is cho­sen.

“All nom­i­na­tions will be re­viewed by an in­de­pen­dent panel of judges, con­sist­ing of a panel of pre­vi­ous Out­stand­ing Con­tri­bu­tion Award re­cip­i­ents plus non-in­dus­try ad­ju­di­ca­tors,” Chair of Judges, Ian Stu­art said.

Nom­i­na­tions are now open and there is no cost as­so­ci­ated with nom­i­nat­ing a can­di­date.

The re­cip­i­ent of the Out­stand­ing In­dus­try Con­tri­bu­tion Award will be an­nounced at the MEA Na­tional Awards Din­ner as part of the MEA Na­tional Con­fer­ence, to be held in Ade­laide in May 2018.

A full list of se­lec­tion cri­te­ria and di­rec­tions about how to nom­i­nate can be found by


The pres­ti­gious MEA award has been se­cured by 12 re­cip­i­ents since its in­cep­tion, with a full list of win­ners avail­able on the MEA web­site. Pre­vi­ous win­ners in­clude El­iz­a­beth Rich, Ge­off Don­aghy and Roslyn McLeod OAM.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.