De­served re­wards for great students

Central and North Burnett Times - - LOCAL NEWS -

BIGGEN­DEN State School Year 7-10 students at­tended the 55th an­nual awards night in the Memo­rial Hall where James McAskill was named dux and Christo­pher Gibbs sportsper­son of the year.

It was a night to cel­e­brate the achieve­ments of students both aca­dem­i­cally and on the sport­ing field.

The stu­dent coun­cil re­ports were given by Vanessa McIn­tyre and the school lead­ers re­port by An­thony Wright­son and Tea­gan McDon­ald. Prin­ci­pal He­len Foul­ger high­lighted the school’s im­prove­ment in NAPLAN test­ing.

She said al­lYear 7 students had placed above the na­tional min­i­mum stan­dard in math­e­mat­ics.

A cer­tifi­cate of ap­pre­ci­a­tion was pre­sented to Glen Chap­man, of Biggen­den Engi­neer­ing, for as­sis­tance with the trade cen­tre.

Coun­cil­lor Lofty Wendt pre­sented the sport­ing awards and told students “even at my age, if you don’t learn some­thing new each day then it’s a to­tal waste of a day”.

Mayor Don Waugh said he was im­pressed with the teach­ers, par­ents and students at the school.

“My idea of the school is the strength of the community,” CrWaugh said.

School lead­ers for 2013 were an­nounced with se­nior lead­ers Vanessa McIn­tyre and Casey Tay­lor, ju­nior leader David Geissler, Milo cap­tains Claudia Wykamp and Ni­cholas Bow­ery and Ajax cap­tains Vanessa McIn­tyre and David Geissler.

Photo: Erica Mur­ree

MAJORAWARDS: Biggen­den State School awards night win­ners in­cluded (back, from left) Casey Tay­lor (Out­door Ad­ven­ture Award), Tea­gan McDon­ald (ADF Long Tan Lead­er­ship Team­work Award), Jac­inta Grif­fin (Aaron Aberdein Team Par­tic­i­pa­tion), Dean Goodall and Jes­sica Hardy (Al­lanWeather­ston School Pride Award), (front, from left) James McAskill (school dux and North Bur­nett Re­gional Coun­cil Cit­i­zen­ship award) and Brady Ferris (Biggen­den Engi­neer­ing Trade Award).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.