Central and North Burnett Times - - ADVERTISING FEATURE -

1. Volvo makes its re­turn to the Bathurst 1000 this year for the first time in 16 years. Swede Rickard Ry­dell and Jim Richards won the great race in 1998 from pole po­si­tion in a five-cylin­der S40. This year, the mar­que will have two V8-pow­ered S60s driven by driv­ers from four dif­fer­ent na­tions – Scott McLaugh­lin (New Zealand), Alex Pre­mat (France), Robert Dahlgren (Swe­den) and Greg Rit­ter (Aus­tralia).

2. Last month, Jamie Whin­cup and Paul Dum­brell (pic- tured) be­came the first com­bi­na­tion to win the Sandown 500 from pole po­si­tion in 18 years, but his­tory sug­gests it will be dif­fi­cult for the pole-sit­ter at Bathurst to claim vic­tory. The car start­ing from pole has won the race just three times in the last 15 years. Garth Tander and Will Dav­i­son (HRT), were the last driv­ers to do it back in 2009.

3. Holden is aim­ing for an un­prece­dented 30th win at Bathurst this year. No other man­u­fac­turer has won more Bathurst clas­sics than Holden. Should it claim vic­tory at Mount Panorama this year, it would also be the 50th V8 Su­per­car Cham­pi­onship race win for the VF Com­modore since it was in­tro­duced at the start of the 2013 sea­son.

4. Rus­sell In­gall is the most ex­pe­ri­enced driver in this year’s Bathurst 1000, set to line up for his 23rd start in the race, which he won in 1995 and 1997 with Larry Perkins. Only 15 driv­ers have more starts in the his­tory of the race than In­gall (pic­tured), who has fin­ished 20 times from 22 starts.

5. Ja­son Bright (pic­tured) will tie the late Peter Brock for sixth on the all-time Aus­tralian Tour­ing Car Cham­pi­onship/V8 Su­per­car Cham­pi­onship starts list at Bathurst. Bright will line up for the 212th time, and his 18th at Mount Panorama. He won with Steve Richards in 1998, but hasn’t been on the podium since 2002 when he fin­ished third with To­mas Mez­era.

6. Just four rook­ies will line up this year, and all are from over­seas. Brits Oliver Gavin and Alex Bun­combe join Swede Robert Dahlgren and New Zealan­der An­dre Heim­gart­ner as the rookie class of 2014. All bar Dahlgren has pre­vi­ous Mount Panorama (pic­tured) ex­pe­ri­ence – Gavin and Bun­combe com­peted in this year’s Bathurst 12 Hour, while Heim­gart­ner has raced in the Porsche Car­rera Cup and the Dun­lop Se­ries.

7. The most ex­pe­ri­enced com­bi­na­tion this year will be the Com­modore of Craig Lown­des (pic­tured, left) and Steve Richards (pic­tured, right) – they have a com­bined 41 Bathurst starts to their credit. Sur­pris­ingly, in 12 of the com­bi­na­tions the pri­mary driver has less ex­pe­ri­ence at the cir­cuit than the co-driver. The big­gest gap in ex­pe­ri­ence is the com­bi­na­tion of Chaz Mostert (one drive) and co-driver Paul Mor­ris (21 starts).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.