A bridge to the past
A TIMBER bridge over a small creek west of Brooweena leads nowhere today, yet it stands as a tribute to a family’s nationalism in the First World War.
The bridge was described as a splendid piece of work and a great credit to those who erected it.
It is the only privately erected war memorial in Queensland and was designed by Laurence Steven Smith, then owner of historic Mount Joseph Station.
It was constructed by station hands from Mount Joseph and a number of returned servicemen from the district. The piers were made by FW Webb.
The official opening took place on May 21, 1921.
Mrs Alfred Brown, who sadly lost her son, William, unveiled the honour board, on which the names of the nine local men who died are listed on one sandstone pier.
Directly opposite are the names of the returned soldiers.
The occasion was followed by a basket picnic and a dance that evening at Teebar Hall, Brooweena.
The bridge carried traffic on the Woolooga Rd for more than 50 years, ceasing on June 16, 1972 with the completion of a new adjacent road.
A small commemorative stone cairn with metal plaque was later erected at the entry to the bridge.
Restoration works were carried out in 2008 by staff of the Woocoo Shire Council together with invaluable input from several local residents.
TOP: Brooweena residents walk the Memorial Bridge on Anzac Day to remember those who served in the First World War. ABOVE: Memorial Bridge on the Woolooga Rd is a lasting memorial.