Ci­ti­zen proud to give back

Central Queensland News - - FRONT PAGE -

STAND­OUT ci­ti­zens were hon­oured in last weeks’ Aus­tralia Day Awards. Cer­e­monies were held through­out the re­gion, in both Cen­tral High­land and Isaac com­mu­ni­ties to recog­nise those who go above and be­yond.

Mo­ran­bah’s In­di­vid­ual Achieve­ment Medal­lion for Cul­ture was awarded to Regi­nald (Reg­gie) Lit­tle, who was also nom­i­nated for Young Ci­ti­zen of the Year.

“It was re­ally ex­cit­ing. I didn’t know what I did was out of the or­di­nary,” he said.

“I thought I was just be­ing a nor­mal ci­ti­zen, but it feels good to be ac­knowl­edged.”

School cap­tain of Mo­ran­bah State High School, Reg­gie loves to get in­volved in events in the com­mu­nity dur­ing the year.

“I am quite in­volved, and I do a lot of vol­un­teer­ing. I re­ally like to get in­volved in ev­ery­thing,” he said.

The Young Ci­ti­zen of the Year Award in Emer­ald went to Jacinda Fehlhaber, who is a teacher at Emer­ald State High School, and was also nom­i­nated be­cause of her en­gage­ment in the com­mu­nity, where she vol­un­teers at a range of clubs and tries her best to in­vest in the com­mu­nity.

“Grow­ing up here you know there isn’t as much op­por­tu­nity as the kids get in Bris­bane so I try to of­fer them the op­por­tu­ni­ties that I had when I was away. I guess its al­ways been my goal in life,” she said.

“It re­ally made me feel hum­ble. It was great.”


Emer­ald award win­ners, Andy Spring for An­drew McArthur, Jacinda Fehlhaber, Da­ley Catip, Phoebe Mur­phy, Emer­ald Go Kart­ing Club.

Rolle­ston Ci­ti­zen of the Year Award Win­ners Mur­ray and Wendy Gib­son, Nom­i­nees Ro­han Bur­rows, Carmel O'Ke­effe, Cr God­win-Smith.

Ju­nior Sports Mark Francey for Jack­son Tay­lor (Win­ner), Kelly Coyne, An­nie Har­rold for Jace, Amanda Paterson.

Ci­ti­zen Award, Cr Gai Sypher, Cody Ford, Rus­sell Pitt.

Rolle­ston Ju­nior Ci­ti­zen of the Year Anto Mat­tey (Spring­sure Springers Club), Maddy and Mitchell Law, Cr God­win-Smith.

Young Ci­ti­zen of the Year Caitlin Peter­son and Mayor Anne Baker.

Emer­ald Cr Alan McIn­doe, Se­nior Sports Award Win­ner Jamie Smith.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.