Fut­sal sea­son fi­nally kicks-off

Deniliquin Pastoral Times - - SPORT -

Fut­sal has ar­rived at De­niliquin Sta­dium, with young­sters tak­ing part in the first round of the com­pe­ti­tion to­mor­row af­ter­noon.

The com­pe­ti­tion is a five-aside indoor soc­cer game played on a smaller pitch than soc­cer, and the or­gan­is­ers en­cour­age peo­ple who are in­ter­ested in play­ing to come along and reg­is­ter as there are many va­can­cies in the teams.

Sta­dium manager John Arthur said they are al­ways look­ing for more play­ers for the com­pe­ti­tion.

‘‘Fut­sal is a game that’s a lot of fun so I en­cour­age every­one to give it a try,’’ he said.

‘‘You don’t have to sign up for a 10 week com­pe­ti­tion straight away.

‘‘We just want every­one to come down and try it.

‘‘We’re also look­ing for more helpers, whether that be ref­er­ees or coaches or even just scor­ers.’’

To­mor­row will see sides choose their own names.

In di­vi­sion three, Team One will take on Team Three from 3.30pm. Team Two will take on Team Four from 4.05pm.

In di­vi­sion two, Team One will do bat­tle with Team Three and Team Two will play Team Four. Th­ese matches will be held at 4.40pm and 5.20pm, re­spec­tively.

In di­vi­sion one, Team One will take on Team Two from 6pm, fol­lowed by Team Three ver­sus Team Four at 6.40pm. The teams for this week are:

Team One — Cobi John­son, Lu­cas Thomp­son, Sam Rai­son and Max Hil­lier; Team Two — Josh Todd, Ben Hayes, Lo­gan El­ph­ick, Darcy John­son and Tom Wal­lace; Team Three — Dex­ter Hard­man, Si­enna El­ph­ick, Emily Hol­loway and Eli Pur­till; and Team Four — Lara Strong, Bent­ley Hard­man, Ma­son Williams, Xan­der Strong and Gra­cie Flight.

Team One — Isaac Thomp­son, An­drew Cro­ker, Jace Collins and Ge­or­gia Tay­lor; Team Two — Bede Orr, Jes­sica Dover, Kaan Oz­men and Cory Freimuth; Team Three — Ben Dun­more, Os­car Thomp­son, Brodie El­ph­ick and Cody Lynch; and Team Four — Ma­son Brain, Char­lie Paton, Will Rai­son, Will Camp­ton, Hay­den Bai­ley. Di­vi­sion one: Team One — Jack Celi, Jay Mayo, Luke Todd, Elena Mul­ham and Hannah Dun­more; Team Two — Bay­den Thomp­son, Jonathon Dover, Miller Hearn, Co­bien Thomp­son and Mil­larni Thomp­son; Team Three — Adrian Mul­ham, Harrison Kirk, Tom Kirk, Mor­gan Kirk and Chloe Blenk­iron; and Team Four — Will Cro­ker, Louis Jen­nings, Lach­lan Hol­loway, Rosie North, Kirn Ku­lar and Brody Flight.

For more up­dates, like the Face­book page, De­niliquin Sta­dium or contact John Arthur on 0427 814 100.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.