Sut­ton wins B&F

Deniliquin Pastoral Times - - SPORT -

Deni Drovers five-eighth Hugh Sut­ton capped off his in­cred­i­ble in­au­gu­ral sea­son at the club with a best and fairest win at Sat­ur­day’s pre­sen­ta­tion night.

Just two weeks ago, Sut­ton claimed the best on ground medal in the Drovers’ 20-17 win over Wagga Waratahs in the South­ern In­land Rugby Union McMullen Cup grand fi­nal.

Ac­cord­ing to coach Joe Gog­a­rty, it was that per­for­mance that got Sut­ton over the line in a tight vote count.

‘‘It came down to Hugh, Tyler AmorBeale, Tom Clarke, Dy­lan Os­borne and Les Dicker,’’ he said.

‘‘Those five were still in con­tention be­fore the grand fi­nal votes were counted.

‘‘We had the ref­er­ees from the grand fi­nal do our votes for us in that game.

‘‘Hugh was very strong, con­sis­tent and gave that drive at five-eighth that we needed.

‘‘He was a very de­serv­ing win­ner and showed his value when it mat­tered most on grand fi­nal day.’’

Also im­press­ing at the vote count was cen­tre Tyler Amor-Beale, who earned the hon­our of Play­ers’ Player, as well as col­lect­ing the high­est point scorer tro­phy.

Gog­a­rty said the Play­ers’ Player hon­our is equally as im­por­tant as the best and fairest award.

‘‘We re­gard the Play­ers’ Player award as our main award be­cause it’s voted on by the team,’’ he said.

‘‘Tyler is just in his sec­ond year of rugby and has proven to be such a valu­able player to the side.

‘‘This sea­son and the premier­ship win was just an awe­some team ef­fort.’’

Other Deni Drovers award win­ners were: Ladies’ Best and Fairest - Tracey Ho; Club Per­son Award - Tracey Ho; Rookie of the Year - West Poka; Most Im­proved - Dar­ren Hig­gins; Best For­ward - Tom Clark; Best Back - Dy­lan Os­borne.

Award win­ners (from left) Tom Clark, Dy­lan Os­borne, Dar­ren Hig­gins, Tyler AmorBeale and Hugh Sut­ton.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.