Who has come be­fore?

Deniliquin Pastoral Times - - NSW MURRAY BY-ELECTION 2017 -

The lo­cal re­gion’s last four lo­cal mem­bers have been from the NSW Na­tion­als.

Adrian Pic­coli served as our lo­cal Mem­ber for Mur­rumbidgee from 1999 to 2007, and was then elected NSW Mem­ber for Mur­ray with the boundary re­dis­tri­bu­tion in 2015.

In the pe­riod Mr Pic­coli was not the lo­cal mem­ber, the lo­cal area had been moved into the elec­torate of Mur­ray-Dar­ling as a re­sult of a boundary re­dis­tri­bu­tion.

Held by Labour’s Peter Black in the lead up to the change, he was beaten at the polls by The Na­tion­als’ John Wil­liams at the 2007 elec­tion.

Mr Black had been the Mem­ber for Mur­ray-Dar­ling since 1999.

Mr Wil­liams served two terms as Mem­ber for Mur­ray-Dar­ling un­til the 2015 re­dis­tri­bu­tion. He did not chal­lenge Mr Pic­coli for NSW Mur­ray and re­tired from pol­i­tics as a re­sult of the change.

Be­fore Mr Pic­coli’s elec­tion as lo­cal mem­ber in 1999, the dis­trict was rep­re­sented by lo­cal man Jim Small.

A The Na­tion­als mem­ber, he was Mem­ber for Mur­ray from 1985 to 1999.

Mr Small suc­ceeded Tim Fis­cher, who was The Na­tion­als’ NSW Mem­ber for Mur­ray from 1980 to 1984. Mr Fis­cher later en­tered Fed­eral Pol­i­tics, as Fed­eral Mem­ber for Far­rer, and also served as Deputy Prime Min­is­ter.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.