Euroa Gazette - - GAZETTE SPORTS -

THE ladies’ AGM was hosted at the clu­b­rooms on Mon­day evening, Oc­to­ber 30.

Firstly, many thanks to the out­go­ing com­mit­tee and in par­tic­u­lar to Bev Jung­wirth who has held the ladies’ pres­i­dent’s po­si­tion with much grace over the past two years and to Freda Ed­wards who stepped in this year to take on the role of cap­tain on be­half of Michelle.

The key roles of the new com­mit­tee con­sists of: Gail Allen (pres­i­dent), Sarah Bullen (vice-pres­i­dent), Judy McLean ( cap­tain), Erica Mercer (vice-cap­tain), Justine Collins (hand­i­cap­per), May Hamil­ton (sec­re­tary) and Mandy Ed­wards ( tour­na­ment sec­re­tary).

Wed­nes­day, Novem­ber 1 was a stroke round and monthly medal.

It was a closely con­tested com­pe­ti­tion with three play­ers rep­re­sent­ing the three di­vi­sions vy­ing for the medal.

How­ever, it was Deb Cox from di­vi­sion three who pipped Justine Collins from di­vi­sion two and Freda Ed­wards from di­vi­sion one on a count­back to take home the prize.

Di­vi­sion 1 win­ner: Freda Ed­wards (nett 72)

Di­vi­sion 2 win­ner: Justine Collins (nett 72)

Di­vi­sion 3 and Monthly Medal Win­ner: Deb Cox (nett 72) (This is Deb’s sec­ond monthly medal win in a row - con­grat­u­la­tions Deb)

Least Putts was won by Leve­nia Red­fern

Near­est the pin: on the 8th - Freda Ed­wards, on the 12th and the 18th Gail Allen

Drive and pitch: on the 5th - Freda Ed­wards and on the 15th Justine Collins

Third shot on the 16th: Justine Collins

Satur­day, Novem­ber 4 was an­other stroke round.

Lovely weather en­sued once the wind had set­tled.

The di­vi­sion one win­ner was Freda Ed­wards who had a fab­u­lous round end­ing the day with a nett 68.

The di­vi­sion 2/3 win­ner was Cindy Bur­nett from Seymour who had a great round with a nett 72 pip­ping the ‘in-form’ Deb Cox on a count­back.

Least Putts was won by Deb Cox with 30 Putts.

Near­est the pin: on the 8th - Maudie In­gram, on the 12th - Bev Jung­wirth and on the 18th - Jenny Thomp­son

Drive and pitch: on the 5th - Leve­nia Red­fern and on the 15th - Cindy Bur­nett

This Wed­nes­day is a sta­ble­ford round and Satur­day will be a par round.

The weather is get­ting bet­ter and bet­ter as the weeks progress.

We look for­ward to see­ing you all out on the course en­joy­ing your golf. sion one with a great score of 68 off the stick, nett 66 and John Gilliland (22) made a great re­turn to golf after a longish lay-off to take out di­vi­sion three with a 90 nett 68.

The monthly medal and di­vi­sion two win­ner was Ash Ped­der (11) who has con­tin­ued his great form to shoot a 76 nett 65 in a great round.

So next Satur­day is the fourth and fi­nal round of the club cham­pi­onship and as has been the cus­tom, the cap­tain has re­quested that the top four play­ers in each grade play this round in a group.

A Grade hits off at 11: 50 with Ed­ward Car­racher 216, Cam Roper 218, Matt Mills 222 and Ry­ley McDon­ald 230.

B Grade tees off at 11: 40 with Ash Ped­der 248, Char­lie Walker 266, Mar­cus Steers 270 and Ash Com­brink 272.

C Grade hits off at 11: 35 with Ian Hor­wood 268, Neil Healey 284, Craig Mor­ri­son 285 and Paul Jones 290.

There are a cou­ple of big leads there but golf is a funny game so you never know.

We will also have Belvoir Park Golf Club from near Bendigo vis­it­ing us on Satur­day and join­ing in the com­pe­ti­tion so we should have a big field.

Wed­nes­day sta­ble­ford had 30 golfers hit­ting the course with Jeff Mo­ran (14) tak­ing out di­vi­sion one with 42 points and Bob At­toni (26) tak­ing out di­vi­sion two with 44 points.

The 21st An­nual Se­niors Tour­na­ment (for golfers over 55 years of age) is on Mon­day with a 4BBB Sta­ble­ford for men and ladies and Tues­day is a sta­ble­ford com­pe­ti­tion for men and ladies.

Get your en­tries into Brian Rosen­brock as soon as you can to play in th­ese great two days of golf.

The golf club re­ally ap­pre­ci­ates the sup­port of Thom­sons’ Home Fur­nish­ings, Al­lied Health Ser­vices, Brady and Kib­ble Trans­port, Euroa Car­a­van Park, GMCU Credit Union and Maw­sons’ Bak­ery Cafe who all help to make this a great event.

The AGM will be held on Mon­day, Novem­ber 20 at 7:30 pm at the club­house and we would like to see as many mem­bers as pos­si­ble at it.

We have nom­i­na­tions for all po­si­tions in­clud­ing a bal­lot re­quired in a cou­ple of them.

Also the pre­sen­ta­tion night is on Fri­day, Novem­ber 24 and is usu­ally a great night.

So this com­ing week­end and the fol­low­ing two days will be a busy time at the club and any help would be greatly ap­pre­ci­ated.

On of­fice duty this Satur­day are Terry Lit­tle­wood and Bruce An­der­son.

Twi­light golf is on Fri­day evening with 5pm hit off.

Re­sults: Wed­nes­day, Novem­ber 1 was a sta­ble­ford event with 30 play­ers.

Win­ner of di­vi­sion one: J Mo­ran (42 points)

Win­ner of di­vi­sion two: R At­toni (44 points)

Drive and pitch on the 17th hole (spon­sored by Franz Kloft Me­chan­i­cal Re­pairs): D McGre­gor

Third shot on the 4th, 70x20 (spon­sored by the club): R At­toni

Near­est the pin: on the 8th (spon­sored by Wal­ters Bus Lines) E Car­racher and on the 18th (spon­sored by Bur­tons Stores) B An­der­son.

Ball win­ners: P McCarthy (39), G Mul­ley (39), D Farmer (38) and I Lewis (38).

Re­sults: Satur­day, Novem­ber 4, was a stroke event, the monthly medal and the third round of the cham­pion- ships with 56 play­ers.

Win­ner of di­vi­sion one: E Car­racher (68 -2 - 66)

Win­ner of di­vi­sion two: A Ped­der (76 – 11- 65) and the monthly medal

Win­ner of di­vi­sion three: J Gilliland (90 – 22 - 68)

Drive and pitch: on the 4th (spon­sored by Franz Kloft Mo­tors) the club, on the 7th (spon­sored by Cas­tle Creek Mo­tel) E Car­racher, on the 11th (spon­sored by Ford McKer­nan Engi­neer­ing) M Cor­radin and on the 16th ( spon­sored by El­ders) L Car­racher.

Putts (spon­sored by Euroa Ho­tel ‘Putts for Pots’): E Car­racher with 22 putts. Ea­gle on the third: Peter Davies Near­est the pin: on the 5th (spon­sored by Bill Hill) M Cor­radin, on the 8th (spon­sored by Aus­ru­ral) J McDon­ald, on the 12th (spon­sored by Wal­ters Bus Lines) M Cor­radin, on the 15th ( spon­sored by Euroa HealthSave Phar­macy) the club and on the 18th (spon­sored by Bur­tons Stores) F O’Con­nor.

Ball win­ners: A Com­brink (67), F O’Con­nor (69), R Day (70), W Cur­ren (71), C Walker (71), and M Steers (72).

Near­est the pins went to Alby Seenan on the 8th, Trevor Price on 13th and Tim Bald­win by the barest of mar­gins on 16th.

Next week is a sta­ble­ford event with cap­tain Barry Cryer in the of­fice and Billy Le­vis­ton in the bar.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.