Elec­tion sees new faces for Har­vey and Waroona coun­cils

Harvey-Waroona Reporter - - REPORTER/NEWS - See next week’s Har­vey Re­porter for com­ments from the new coun­cil­lors.

WITH Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment Elec­tion votes in and counted on Satur­day, Har­vey will see four new faces in the coun­cil cham­ber and Waroona two.

Har­vey had a 29 per cent turnout rate for its vot­ing this year with 25,633 valid votes cast.

In­cum­bent coun­cil­lors Der­rick Simp­son and Bill Adams were re­elected with 8.48 per cent and 8.59 per cent of the vote re­spec­tively.

Join­ing them in the cham­ber will be newly-elected coun­cil­lors Michelle Camp­bell, 10.97 per cent, Paul Gil­lett, 11.3 per cent, Wendy Dick­in­son, 10.67 per cent, and Michelle Boy­lan, 14.65 per cent.

In the Shire of Waroona, vot­ing saw a higher turnout rate at 43.69 per cent with 4054 valid votes cast.

In­cum­bent coun­cil­lors Noel Dew, 12.53 per cent, and Larry Scott, 13.49 per cent, were re-elected with Naomi Pur­cell, 20.97 per cent, and Mike Walm­s­ley, 24.32 per cent, elected.

The terms of all the coun­cil­lors elected this year ex­pire in October 2021.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.