Sun­downer to wrap up the sea­son

Harvey-Waroona Reporter - - SPORT -

HAR­VEY Benger Cricket Club ended its sea­son with an awards sun­downer at the Har­vey Recre­ation and Cul­tural Cen­tre on Sun­day.

The ca­sual event in­cluded awards for the ju­nior and se­nior crick­eters. The award win­ners were: Year 7 bowling ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Mark Par­ravicini, 12 wick­ets at 9.58.

Year 12 bowling ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Tim Fitzger­ald, 17 wick­ets at 9.53.

Sec­ond grade bowling ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Haydn Jones, 20 wick­ets at 12.75.

Year 7 bat­ting ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Xavier Parker, 164 runs at 16.4.

Year 12 bat­ting ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Aaron Jo­vanovic, 275 runs at 34.38.

Sec­ond grade bat­ting ag­gre­gate and av­er­age: Haydn Jones, 484 runs at 37.23.

Crick­eter of the Year

Year 7: Xavier Parker Year 12: Aaron Jo­vanovic Year 12 BDCA: Aaron Jo­vanovic Un­der 21: Alex Ver­rall Sec­ond grade: Haydn Jones Mas­ters player of the year: Johnny Crog­nale

T20 player of the year: Scott Fowler

The event ended with the pre­sen­ta­tion of life mem­ber­ship to Haydn Jones for his com­mit­ment, ded­i­ca­tion and skill on and off the field over many years of ser­vice at all lev­els of cricket in Har­vey and the South West.

Mr Jones was shocked to re­ceive such an hon­our. He thanked the club’s com­mit­tee, play­ers and sup­port of his fam­ily.

Year in re­view Sec­ond grade

There were a num­ber of changes in Har­vey Benger’s se­nior struc­ture in the 2017/18 sea­son.

The club did not nom­i­nate a third grade side due to a num­ber of play­ers un­able to com­mit for the whole sea­son.

The team ended the sea­son in fifth place, just miss­ing out on the fi­nals.

Al­though dis­ap­point­ing to miss the fi­nals, this lad­der po­si­tion re­flects the in­con­sis­tent per­for­mances of the side.

Sea­son high­light was club cap­tain Scott Fowler scor­ing his first cen­tury.

Year 12

Af­ter a win­less 2016/17 sea­son, the Year 12 team found its straps and dom­i­nated a num­ber of sides in the com­pe­ti­tion this year.

Af­ter a ner­vous semi-fi­nal against Da­lyellup Beach, Har­vey Benger was out­played by a strong colts side in the grand fi­nal.

Sea­son high­lights in­cluded a num­ber of 50s scored by in­di­vid­ual play­ers.

Year 7

It was a dif­fi­cult year for the Year 7 side, only win­ning one game. Al­though the team did not win many games, all the play­ers im­proved through­out the sea­son.

Next year the side needs a few more crick­eters as the group re­quires more play­ers on the field.


The mas­ters team was un­de­feated through­out the whole com­pe­ti­tion.

Har­vey Benger com­pre­hen­sively de­feated Marist in the grand fi­nal.

A ma­jor high­light was Char­lie Ital­iano tak­ing seven wick­ets from four games and av­er­ag­ing 32 with the bat.

Sec­ond grade team cap­tain Scott Fowler cel­e­brates scor­ing his first cen­tury.

Aaron Jo­vanovic, pic­tured here at the crease, dom­i­nated with the bat and ball this year.

Crick­eter of the Year win­ners across the four grades, Aaron Jo­vanovic, Alex Ver­rall, Haydn Jones and Xavier Parker re­ceive their tro­phies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.