One strange golf rule
CENTRAL Golf Queensland secretary Gurney Clamp has been around the traps a long time, but he did have his knowledge of the rules tested recently.
“I was in the clubhouse of the Yeppoon Golf Club when a member of the club approached me after a social round of golf,” Gurney explained.
“He had been playing golf with a couple of his mates on a windy Sunday morning when he asked to give a ruling on a very strange incident that happened during the round.
“Apparently, after putting his golf ball towards the hole on the 17th, a large leaf blew over and completely covered the hole.
“His golf ball came to rest on top of the leaf directly above the hole – the ball would have dropped into the cup had the leaf not been there.”
Now, Gurney is no mug and asked the player to produce the leaf.
“The player involved showed me the offending leaf that created the problem,” Gurney said.
“I had a couple of thoughts as to what the rule was, but I thought I had better check with Golf Queensland.
“I was advised that the player had to place his ball marker beside the leaf, lift the golf ball, then the leaf, replace the ball at the marker and putt the ball into the hole.”
Problem solved, we think.