Po­lice dis­tricts go from four to eight

Kalamunda Reporter - - News -

NEW po­lice dis­tricts will come into ef­fect from July 1 to im­prove polic­ing in ma­jor cen­tres across the met­ro­pol­i­tan area.

The num­ber of po­lice dis­tricts will in­crease from four to eight, which bet­ter align with lo­cal gov­ern­ment and emer­gency man­age­ment bound­aries.

The new Mid­land district will cover For­rest­field and north of Bulls­brook, Mun­dar­ing and Bal­la­jura.

The other dis­tricts will be Perth, Mirra­booka, Joon­dalup, Ar­madale, Can­ning­ton, Man­durah and Fre­man­tle.

Po­lice Com­mis­sioner Chris Daw­son said the changes would help lo­cal polic­ing.

“The new district struc­ture will pro­vide greater con­nec­tiv­ity and com­mu­ni­ca­tion with po­lice and their lo­cal com­mu­nity,” he said.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.