Kwinana Courier - - Drive Way - Bill Buys

TWO tar­mac rally teams each scored a hat-trick at the week­end with vic­to­ries in their re­spec­tive classes.

Up front, Peter Ma­jor won Com­pe­ti­tion Mod­ern for the third – and fi­nal – time, get­ting his Porsche 996 over the line 24 sec­onds ahead of the Nis­san R35 GTR of Peter Rullo and James Mar­quet, with the Lancer Evo of Will White and Matt Thomp­son third.

Ma­jor, and co-driver Ben Searcy, bat­tled the ever-chang­ing weather con­di­tions through­out the event that took in 34 spe­cial stages in Malaga, Wan­neroo, White­man Park, Kalamunda, Toodyay, Chit­ter­ing and Bulls­brook be­fore fin­ish­ing on the Perth Fore­shore.

The 13th Quit Targa West had 64 rally teams in a mix of per­for­mance, clas­sic and ex­otic cars.

Ma­jor had ear­lier an­nounced it would be his last Targa West as he shifted his fo­cus to his fam­ily, busi­ness and other pur­suits.

In Com­pe­ti­tion Clas­sic, Mick and Daniel Bray fin­ished in their To­rana nine sec­onds ahead of two-time win­ners Si­mon Gun­son and Mur­ray Ar­menti in their Ford Capri Per­ana.

At the Malaga open­ing stage, rain buck­eted down dur­ing Gun­son’s run, while Bray had a rel­a­tively dry run to fin­ish 16 sec­onds faster.

Third were Si­mon Ling­ford and Avril Cur­tis in their 1973 Dat­sun 240Z.

Ling­ford, the fastest pri­va­teer in the Lon­don to Syd­ney Marathon in 2000 in the same car, said he was very happy to fin­ish.

‘We had lots of is­sues to keep the car go­ing: no speedo, no tacho, no oil pres­sure, gear­box prob­lems and a mis­fire, so it’s an achieve­ment just to fin­ish and amaz­ing to fin­ish third,’ he said.

The other hat-trick came in Chal­lenge Com­pe­ti­tion, where Sharon Gun­son and He­len Lun­smann had another win in their Mit­subishi Lancer Evo 7, beat­ing off rook­ies Nick Bai­ley and Kyle O’Neil in a VW Golf GTI.

In the Chal­lenge Clas­sic cat­e­gory for pre-1986 cars, Justin Gan and Greg Levene took ti­tle hon­ours in their 1978 Porsche 911SC from Steve Cherry and Glyn Crimp in their bright red 1982 Toy­ota Star­let, with Bob and Rob­bie Fisher third in their 1967 Tri­umph TR4A.

Peter Ma­jor and Ben Searcy on their way to vic­tory in Quit Targa West.

Joseph Law and Alex But­ler were the first to tackle Targa West in an elec­tric car.

Sharon Gun­son and He­len Lun­smann won their class for the third time.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.