Mills mo­tors to state ti­tle

Kyabram Free Press - - SPORT -

SATUR­DAY night at Rush­worth Speed­way was a big night with two Vic­to­rian cham­pi­onships on the line.

And when rac­ing was fin­ished, Trevor Mills from Corowa — the reign­ing Speed­way Sedans Aus­tralia Vic­to­ria Pro­duc­tion Sedan Cham­pion — had re­tained his crown and Scott Laid­law from Mor­well had re­tained his Vic­to­rian Speed­way Coun­cil Di­vi­sion Two Hot Rod Cham­pi­onship.

In lo­cal rac­ing, Paul Lamb in GV Open Saloons, Chloe Lamb in GV Ladies Saloons, Leigh Jef­fery in GV Pro­duc­tion Sedans and Tris­tan McGraw in GV Ju­nior Sedans were all win­ners on points when cur­few time cut the race meet­ing short.

Two-time Aus­tralian Cham­pion Stephen Laid­law set the tone for the SSA Pro­duc­tion Sedans when he came out on top over old foe Trevor Mills by just 1.317 sec­onds in the first heat.

Laid­law had the bit be­tween his teeth af­ter an ear­lier sea­son crash at Wah­gun­yah and watch­ing Mills a week prior tak­ing a win on his very own home track at Rosedale in that fea­ture.

Vis­it­ing New South Welsh­man Wes Barnes cap­tured vic­tory in the se­cond heat with Laid­law pick­ing up another win be­fore Mills won his first heat of the night in the fourth, which he did so with a race time of 3 min­utes 19.676 sec­onds, the best time of the night for the class.

Damien McAlis­ter from Goul­burn in New South Wales won the fifth heat by the barest of mar­gins, 0.414 sec­onds, be­fore Mills re­versed the first heat re­sult and put one over Laid­law who in­ci­den­tally put in the books the fastest one lap time of the night with a 19.524 in fin­ish­ing se­cond.

Start­ing the Vic­to­rian cham­pi­onship at the front of the field, Mills and Laid­law quickly sorted out who was go­ing to fol­low whom with Mills tak­ing the ad­van­tage.

Ray­mond Ussher from the Wan­garatta club had a short race, pulling out within the first cou­ple of laps and Craig McAlis­ter and his brother Damien moved up po­si­tions.

Mak­ing moves from fur­ther in the pack was Wayne Bourke from Lee­ton and by lap 15 he had moved from around 10th to sixth with more to come.

Mills con­tin­ued to lead out front from Laid­law — and Bourke, by lap 25, was now in fourth.

With a few laps to go, Bourke passed Craig McAlis­ter and when the che­quered flag dropped, Mills had claimed back to back Vic­to­rian ti­tles with Laid­law, Bourke, Craig McAlis­ter and Damien McAlis­ter the top five.

Rush­worth Speed­way re­turns on Fe­bru­ary 24.

Corowa driver Trevor Mills won the pro­duc­tion sedan Vic­to­rian ti­tle. Pic­ture: Vern and Jackie Parker

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.