Con­trol your lo­ca­tion data

Some­times you’re happy for apps to know your lo­ca­tion, some­times not…

Mac Format - - SUBSCRIBE -

Be­cause some­times you’re happy for apps to know your lo­ca­tion, and some­times not…

Your iPhone or iPad uses mul­ti­ple sen­sors to track your lo­ca­tion. By com­bin­ing data from GPS, Blue­tooth, Wi-Fi and mo­bile phone cell tow­ers, it can cre­ate a pretty ac­cu­rate pic­ture of where you are. It can be a very use­ful tool for maps, nav­i­ga­tion tools and Ap­ple’s own Find My Friends and Find My iPhone apps. But, very rea­son­ably, there may be oc­ca­sions when you want to keep your lo­ca­tion data pri­vate.

For­tu­nately, iOS 8 makes it very easy to give and re­voke per­mis­sion for apps to ac­cess lo­ca­tion data. And it makes it very clear when your lo­ca­tion is be­ing shared and with which apps.

The first thing to note is that newly in­stalled apps must ask you for per­mis­sion if they want to ac­cess lo­ca­tion data. This is done via an alert which pops up the first time you open the app. If you give per­mis­sion, that app can ac­cess lo­ca­tion data when­ever you use it, un­til you re­voke per­mis­sion.

When­ever any app is us­ing your lo­ca­tion data – for ex­am­ple, if Google Maps is giv­ing you di­rec­tions – the tiny lo­ca­tion icon is dis­played at the top of the screen. It dis­ap­pears again when the app stops us­ing your lo­ca­tion. Kenny Hemphill

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.