It’s easy to change your Find My Friends lo­ca­tion and other set­tings. Here’s how…

Mac Format - - APPLE SKILLS -

1 Name your lo­ca­tion

At the bot­tom of the screen, tap the row that says ‘Me’ and lists your cur­rent lo­ca­tion to re­veal ev­ery­thing the app knows about you: where you’re lo­cated, whether you’re shar­ing that info, and who you’re shar­ing it with. At the top of the screen you’ll see a live map view that shows your po­si­tion, with the ad­dress be­low it. You can make the ad­dress more mean­ing­ful to you and your friends by nam­ing it: tap Choose La­bel, then choose a pre­set on the next page – Home, Work, School, Gym or None – or tap Add Cus­tom La­bel to cre­ate one of your own.

2 Share your lo­ca­tion

Use this switch to quickly turn lo­ca­tion shar­ing on or off. Just be­low this is another op­tion: Share My Lo­ca­tion From. This is use­ful if you have more than one iOS de­vice and want to as­so­ciate them with dif­fer­ent places – for ex­am­ple, a Mac at work, or an iPad at home. You can see which de­vice’s lo­ca­tion is cur­rently be­ing shared as yours, as it’ll have a check mark to its right. To change de­vice, sim­ply tap the one you want to use in­stead.

3 In­vi­ta­tions

When you in­vite a per­son to see your lo­ca­tion, they re­ceive an email from your de­fault email ad­dress. To use another ad­dress tap Send As to re­veal a list of al­ter­na­tives you can use: any that are al­ready as­so­ci­ated with your Ap­ple ID, in­clud­ing any aliases that you’ve set up in the Mail web app at iCloud.com.

4 Close friends

You can be alerted when a per­son ar­rives or leaves a place. Un­der Show Your Ge­ofence Alerts From, choose whether to get alerts about any­one who shares their lo­ca­tion with you, or just friends you’re fol­low­ing.

1 2 3 4

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.