7. Back up your files

Mac Format - - FEATURE -

There are no back­ups ex­cept those

which we make for our­selves. Back­ing up is gen­er­ally a very good idea be­fore mak­ing any ma­jor change to your op­er­at­ing sys­tem but par­tic­u­larly im­por­tant if you want to roll back to the pre­vi­ous ver­sion of macOS.

If you use an ex­ter­nal drive for Time Ma­chine, make sure it’s con­nected to your Mac and then click on Ap­ple > Sys­tem Pref­er­ences > Time Ma­chine. Check the date of the lat­est backup to be sure your file sys­tem is cur­rent and make a care­ful note of the date and time. This is im­por­tant if you want to re­store your sys­tem later.

If you pre­fer to start a back-up man­u­ally en­sure that the op­tion marked ‘Show Time Ma­chine in menu bar’ is ticked. Click the icon at the top right and select Back Up Now. Re­mem­ber that if you choose to re­store your sys­tem from this point af­ter up­grad­ing to High Sierra, any changes you’ve made will be lost.

If you use another backup method such as sync­ing files in your Desk­top and Doc­u­ments folder to iCloud, make sure that any im­por­tant data is moved there.

Re­mem­ber that if you don’t use Time Ma­chine, you won’t be able to re­store ap­pli­ca­tions and saved data pur­chased out­side the Mac App Store. Ei­ther run a Time Ma­chine backup now or make sure you have the nec­es­sary se­rial num­bers/lo­gin in­for­ma­tion for apps so you can re­in­stall if nec­es­sary.

And don’t for­get that other users on your Mac may have in­stalled ap­pli­ca­tions us­ing their own Ap­ple ID. Check to make sure they know their Ap­ple ID pass­word be­fore up­grad­ing. You can never be too safe when it comes to back­ing up!

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.