A vic­to­ri­ous rally for White, Thompson

Manjimup-Bridgetown Times - - Sport - Tari Jef­fers

LAST year’s Quit Targa Cup winners have claimed the 2017 Targa South West stage win af­ter two days and seven stages of ral­ly­ing ac­tion.

Driv­ers Will White, of Dar­danup, and Matt Thompson, of Ea­ton, fin­ished the event in their Mit­subishi Evo 9 with a lead of just un­der a minute and a to­tal time of 46:04 min­utes.

White and Thompson set the pace early on by clock­ing the fastest time on 13 of the 14 stages held in and around Pem­ber­ton and Man­jimup on Satur­day, keep­ing Targa vet­er­ans Brendan Tem­ple­man and Peter Howlett, of Perth and Kar­ratha re­spec­tively, at bay.

Sun­day’s shorter and tighter Man­jimup stages were also kind to the win­ning duo, who crossed the fi­nal fin­ish line win­ning all but two of the day’s seven stages.

Thompson said prepa­ra­tion was the key to their suc­cess this year and noth­ing was as easy as it looked when it came to ral­ly­ing.

“It was a case of mak­ing sure ev­ery­thing comes to­gether on the day and get­ting through without the break­ages that we had last year,” he said.

“The most mem­o­rable mo­ment of this year’s event was get­ting a nice clean run through the Gloucester stages and see­ing all the peo­ple en­joy­ing them­selves that had turned out to watch on top of the bridge.”

The team will now be turn­ing their fo­cus to next month’s Bun­bury Sprint and then Targa West.

Sec­ond place went to Tem­ple­man and Howlett, in their Mit­subishi Evo 8, with a time of 46:55 min­utes and third went to Bal­divis pair Glen Ren­shaw and Krys­tle McDonald with a time of 48:26 min­utes in their Holden VE SS-V Ute.

The clas­sic com­pe­ti­tion winners were Perth pair Si­mon Gun­son and Mur­ray Ar­menti in their Ford Capri Per­ana, with a time of 48:11 min­utes.

“We had a me­chan­i­cal is­sue with the ex­haust fall­ing off but noth­ing ma­jor,” Gun­son said.

“We re­lied on the ser­vice crew a bit to get us through, but apart from that our event was all right.”

Both in a Dat­sun 240z, Perth pair Bruce Lake and Peter Hall set­tled for sec­ond in com­pe­ti­tion clas­sic, end­ing the event at 49:53 min­utes and Si­mon Ling­ford and Avril Cur­tis, both of Perth, came third with 50:16 min­utes.

In the chal­lenge sec­tion, first went to Bal­divis/Perth pair Nick Bai­ley and Kyle O’Neal in 56:48 min­utes, sec­ond went to Perth pair Sharon Gun­son and Glenys Stagholl with 57:01 min­utes and third was Perth pair Andy Tudor and Brad Bird with 57:15 min­utes.

Pic­tures: Tari Jef­fers

2017 Targa South West winners Will White and Matt Thompson take a cor­ner in their Mit­subishi Evo 9 dur­ing a Man­jimup stage on Satur­day.

Glen Ren­shaw and Krys­tle McDonald, both of Bal­divis, came third over­all.

Nick Bai­ley and Kyle O'Neal, of Bal­divis and Perth, came first in the chal­lenge di­vi­sion with a time of 56:48 min­utes in their VW Golf GTi.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.