Big year capped off with Lynn Medal

Melville Times - - Sport - Lynn Medal Top Ten: Jay­den Schofield (76 votes), Matthew Watson (71), Jonathon Marsh (57), Matthew Jupp and Cameron Eard­ley (46), Ge­orge Hamp­son (35), An­drew Stephen (32), Tom Mar­shall (31), Sam Read (30), Dion Anthony (30).

JAY­DEN Schofield held off Matthew Watson to claim his first Lynn Medal as East Fre­man­tle’s best and fairest player on Satur­day night.

Schofield, named in Septem­ber in the WAFL Team of the Year after a sea­son where he av­er­aged 26 dis­pos­als, earned 76 votes, with Watson gar­ner­ing 71.

In third was pow­er­ful mid­fielder Jonathon Marsh (57 votes).

Re­turn­ing to the Sharks after three sea­sons with Colling­wood in the AFL, Marsh av­er­aged 28 dis­pos­als and had the sec­ond most clear­ances for the Sharks.

Marsh was also the sole Shark se­lected for the WA State Team, which made his­tory in May by be­com­ing the first ever West Aus­tralian se­nior team to beat Vic­to­ria in Mel­bourne.

Matthew Jupp and Cameron Eard­ley shared fourth place with 46 votes.

Corey Holmes was named Best First Year Player, while Tom Ben­nett was awarded the Ris­ing Star.

Tim Bris­tow claimed both the Best Club­man and EFFC Com­mu­nity Awards.

Jay­den Schofield has been named East Fre­man­tle’s best and fairest.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.