Won­thella Ma­roon and Ger­ald­ton Red stay un­de­feated

Midwest Times - - SPORT - Joe Crid­dle

Won­thella Ma­roon and Ger­ald­ton Red re­tained their un­de­feated sta­tus af­ter round seven of the Batavia Bowl­ing League’s men’s pen­nants sea­son, with the clash be­tween this sea­son’s trend­set­ters in two weeks time sure to cre­ate plenty of dis­cus­sion.

The Ma­roons sit on top of the ta­ble, with a stag­ger­ing 40 points out of a pos­si­ble 42, and sit on a record pace to set an un­for­get­table bench­mark for the lo­cal com­pe­ti­tion.

This comes af­ter com­plet­ing a de­mo­li­tion over sis­ter side Won­thella Gold 6-0 (72-44).

Ger­ald­ton Red have gath­ered 36 points over the seven rounds.

The Reds had to dig deep to gain the 5-1 re­sult against Deni­son Blue, with the group ral­ly­ing over the fi­nal few ends to claim what ap­peared an un­likely ag­gre­gate 6059.

The Ma­roons look cer­tain­ties to play in the fi­nals; their clos­est chaser is Won­thella Gold, who sit third with 22 pre­mier­ship points.

Ger­ald­ton Gold de­feated Won­thella Green 4-2 (53-52) and as a re­sult moved back into the top four at the ex­pense of their op­po­si­tion.

The re­sult moved them to 22 pre­mier­ship points, level with Won­thella Gold.

Ger­ald­ton Blue col­lected a nar­row 4-2 (61-59) vic­tory over Mullewa to move to sixth po­si­tion on 21 points.

Blue are now level with Won­thella Green and one shy of third and fourth on the lad­der.

Mullewa’s two points moved them to 15, which re­lates to a full ag­gre­gate re­sult adrift.

The loss was the Saints’ sec­ond two-shot de­feat in suc­ces­sion. A lit­tle luck in com­ing rounds could well see the Saints press for fi­nals ac­tion.

In other news, the 2017 Cham­pi­onship Fours have fin­ished at the Ger­ald­ton Bowl­ing Club, with Mike Ford, Joe Crid­dle, Jon Trot­ter and Jeff Eaton gain­ing the ti­tle in a qual­ity en­counter against Colin Mor­gan, John Bur­nett, Bill John­son and Lawrence Brooks, with the re­sult re­main­ing in the bal­ance un­til the sec­ond-last bowl of the 18-end fi­nale.

The Won­thella cham­pi­ons for 2017 are Wally Kimel, Peter Swan, Brian Thomas and Phil Gale, who de­feated Bill An­dreas­son, Eric Ryan, Noel Jack­son and Joe Beaver.

War­ren Kennedy, Phil Hol­land, Peter Bat­ten and Gary Clarke pro­duced the game to claim the 2017 plate fi­nal against Geoff Hal­l­i­day, David Muir, Ken Trig­well and Ernie Ainsworth.

The long-awaited 2017 Midwest Traf­fic Con­trollers King Scroungers com­pe­ti­tion last Sun­day af­ter­noon re­sulted in vic­tory to Brad King, with Terry Wil­liamson claim­ing sec­ond with a dis­tant third to Crid­dle.

King also claimed the ag­gre­gate for the sea­son, equalling the ef­forts of Mike Ford last sea­son.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.