Rac­ers re­warded at pres­ti­gious black-tie event.

Mini Magazine - - Contents -

Shayne Dee­gan and Ash­ley Davies grab the head­lines at the M7RC awards bash.

Of­fer­ing the op­por­tu­nity for driv­ers to swap their hel­met and over­alls for some­thing a lit­tle more dap­per, the Mini 7 Rac­ing Club’s an­nual awards evening took place at the Strat­ford Manor Ho­tel on Jan­uary 21. The event was ex­tra spe­cial this year, as it looked back on the club’s 50th an­niver­sary sea­son.

The big­gest win­ner on the night was Shayne Dee­gan, who dom­i­nated the Miglias in his de­but year. In ad­di­tion to his tro­phy for winning the 2016 ti­tle, he picked up a fur­ther four awards. These in­cluded the Mike Fry Tro­phy for the most Miglia pole po­si­tions, along with the Chris Tyrrell Tro­phy for most points, the Chris Inch Tro­phy for the most fastest laps and the Nick Cooke Award for the best driver/team.

Se7en ti­tle win­ner Ash­ley Davies also en­joyed a good haul. As well pick­ing up his cham­pi­onship tro­phy, he col­lected the Mau­rice Leg­gate Tro­phy for ‘drive of the sea­son’, the Sevenoaks Cup for the most Se7en points ac­cu­mu­lated at Brands Hatch, the Steve Bell Me­mo­rial award for the most points af­ter six rounds and the Spax Im­prover Award, largely to due to gain­ing 29 places at Combe alone!

Else­where, Char­lie Budd and An­drew Deviny were joint win­ners of the Nor­man Finn Tro­phy for the most Se7en pole po­si­tions, while Ju­lian Proc­tor and Sam Sum­mer­hayes took the ST Tro­phy for the most re­li­able car in each class. Sum­mer­hayes also won the Dun­lop Cup for most im­proved Miglia driver, with Kieren McDon­ald tak­ing hon­ours for the Se7ens. Sea­son debu­tant Leon Oli Win­dow scooped three awards, in­clud­ing the Phil West Shield, the Novice Award and the James Arm­strong Me­mo­rial ‘Hard Trier’ Tro­phy, while fel­low novice Tom San­der­son won the Tom Jar­rett Tro­phy for best new­comer.

One of the most de­sir­able awards is the Fred Jack­son Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for an in­di­vid­ual who has put in a lot of ef­fort to keep the club spirit alive. This year it went to Colin Pea­cock, but he also won one of the most un­de­liv­er­able ac­co­lades too; the Bryan Slark Valve ‘It Can Only Get Bet­ter’ Award cour­tesy of try­ing a very dif­fer­ent line around Druids that did not work out!

The new Se7en and Miglia sea­son gets un­der­way at Cas­tle Combe on April 17. See for more.

Pho­tog­ra­phy Ol­lie Read

Miglia cham­pion Shayne Dee­gan with his tro­phy.

Se7en cham­pion Ash­ley Davies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.