From Aus­tria to Huskins­son

Af­ter fin­ish­ing third in her age group at the Husky Long Course last month, we un­der­took the Mecca Q&A with a great lo­cal triath­lete

Multisport Mecca - - Profile -

Full name: Brenda Bim­rose. Nick­name: Bren.

Birth­place and cur­rent sub­urb: Eng­land (moved to Aus­tralia at three years of age). Cur­rently in North Bud­erim.

Oc­cu­pa­tion: Nurse.

Age and mar­i­tal sta­tus: 56, mar­ried to Vic­tor. Two boys/men Chris (28), Scott (25). Club/coach: At­las Mul­tisports – Ja­son Crowther.

Sport: Triathlon.

Favourite food: All Ital­ian food. Favourite drink: Cham­pagne and wine, maybe the oc­ca­sional ly­chee mar­tini.

Pet hates: Judge­men­tal peo­ple. Favourite run lo­ca­tion and why: Along the beach from Mooloolaba Spit to Pic­nic Point. It makes me re­alise how lucky we are to be liv­ing on the Sun­shine Coast, with beau­ti­ful beaches and lots of happy peo­ple en­joy­ing the beach life.

Favourite ride lo­ca­tion and why: There are so many lovely rides but one I en­joy is the ride from Ma­roochy­dore to Montville and back. It is a pretty ride with the chal­lenge of Montville (some­times twice if Ja­son is feel­ing mean). I also en­joy go­ing through Yan­d­ina to Eu­mundi then back home via Pe­ri­gian Springs to Ma­roochy­dore. With this ride you get both the coun­try­side to en­joy as well as the beach views on the way back.

Favourite swim lo­ca­tion and why: The swim across the bay at Mooloolaba – the per­fect way to start a Fri­day.

Best or most mem­o­rable event: There have been so many great events with the won­der­ful crew at At­las Mul­tisports but I guess a high­light for me was be­ing able to go to the World Iron­man 70.3 at Zell am See in Aus­tria, with my hus­band Vic­tor to cheer me on. I even got to wear the green and gold. I was also in­volved in a char­ity ride that my friend Linda Florence or­gan­ised, the Ride for Russ, which was in hon­our of her po­lice col­league and to raise aware­ness about sui­cide. It was a 300km-in-a-day ride and was an emo­tional and up­lift­ing ex­pe­ri­ence.

Bucket-list event: I think it would be great to do the Marathon du Me­doc in the south of France, where you get to drink wine along the way.

How did you get into this sport: I started with my friend Jacintha about six years ago when we thought it would be fun to do a Pinky tri. Grad­u­ally we got a bit braver and started do­ing some sprint events. Then Jacintha thought we should do the Mooloolaba Tri and we re­alised we needed help. That’s when we met Ja­son and Lisa and the At­las crew. I went on to fin­ish an Iron­man and of course am now to­tally hooked on the sport. Favourite race: As far as triathlons are con­cerned it is hard to go past the Hamil­ton Is­land sprint dis­tance. Such a beau­ti­ful place and even though it is only a sprint dis­tance it is chal­leng­ing with its hills in the bike and run. What’s your favourite part of rac­ing and train­ing: The friend­ships that have de­vel­oped through the At­las group is my favourite part of train­ing. Hav­ing my first glass of cham­pagne with those friends af­ter fin­ish­ing a race is my favourite part of rac­ing. What does a train­ing week look like for you in terms of vol­ume and dis­ci­plines: This de­pends on if I am train­ing for a par­tic­u­lar event but usu­ally I will do one–two pool swims and one ocean swim a week, one long bike ride and two 1.5-hour rides a week and one long run and two track­style runs a week.

How was your Huskisson ex­pe­ri­ence: What an amaz­ing place. Loved it. The wa­ter in the swim was so clear and beau­ti­ful, the ride had its chal­lenges, rolling hills and a lot of pot holes but still very pretty, and the run along the wa­ter­front was breath­tak­ing (and flat). The event was well run and had some­thing for ev­ery­one, with the ocean swim, the fun runs and sprint tris and chil­dren’s events. Def­i­nitely a must-do event.

What is next on your rac­ing agenda: Good ques­tion. I have a few non-tri things com­ing up so no ma­jor events for the next six months. I am reg­is­tered to do the 220km TOOMOO ride from Toowoomba to Mooloolaba in April.

How do you man­age to fit in train­ing with work and fam­ily com­mit­ments: It is much eas­ier for me now as I don’t have any young chil­dren to look af­ter and this year I am now only work­ing a few days a week. My hus­band is used to me dis­ap­pear­ing early in the morn­ings and doesn’t com­plain too much. I have the ut­most re­spect for those triath­letes who still have young chil­dren and full-time jobs to man­age.

If you could have a celebrity live with you, who would it be and why: My niece, Lisa Blair, is cur­rently sail­ing around the An­tar­tic, solo and unas­sisted, and if she is suc­cess­ful she will be the first fe­male to do so and also hopes to break the record held by a male (Fe­dor Konyukhovb in 102 days). When she achieves this she will be a celebrity so I would like her to live with me be­cause she is awe­some. This is my shame­less plug for Lisa, fol­low her on www.lis­ablair­sail­s­the­world.com. When you were lit­tle what job did you want to do: I would like to say some­thing re­ally ex­cit­ing like be­ing an as­tro­naut or nu­clear physi­cist but ac­tu­ally I wanted to be a teacher.

Best movie: I am bad at re­mem­ber­ing movies but I re­mem­ber watch­ing Lit­tle Miss Sun­shine in a plane years ago and I think the rest of the pas­sen­gers thought I was hav­ing some sort of fit I was laugh­ing so much. Cur­rent car: Ford Mon­deo. I like it be­cause my bike fits in with­out me hav­ing to take off the wheel. Dream car: I don’t re­ally have a dream car to be hon­est. Maybe a driver­less car in the fu­ture so I can just re­lax and read a book while it drives me to wher­ever I want to go.

PHOTO: CON­TRIB­UTED

North Bud­erim triath­lete Brenda Bim­rose.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.