At­las’s Ger­man pow­er­house

Multisport Mecca - - Q&a -

Full name: Corinna Atkinson. Nick­name: Inna.

Birth­place: Esslin­gen in Ger­many.

Lives: Bud­erim.

Oc­cu­pa­tion: Mum and lan­guage teacher.

Age and mar­i­tal sta­tus: 48 and mar­ried to Mick, with three chil­dren Nina, Leyla and Calvin. Club/coach: Ja­son Crowther, At­las Mul­tisports.

Favourite food: Thai food, salad and Snick­ers bar.

Favourite drink: Pep­per­mint tea when I am good, and vodka when I am at my best.

Pet hates: Punc­tures, in­con­sid­er­ate car driv­ers while cy­cling and early morn­ings. Sport: Triathlon, ski­ing, snow­board­ing.

How did you get in­volved in triathlon: Years ago my dad saw an ad in the news­pa­per and asked me if I would like to try it to­gether with him. We par­tic­i­pated in many races to­gether af­ter­wards. And he has al­ways been my in­spi­ra­tion and role model in this sport.

What bike do you ride: Kuota. Favourite run lo­ca­tion: Ewan Mad­dock Dam, be­cause the for­est re­minds me of home and I can take my dog with me. Favourite ride lo­ca­tion: On re­mote roads in the Black For­est in Ger­many or At­lantic Coast in France be­cause there is hardly any traf­fic.

Favourite swim lo­ca­tion: Mooloolaba, be­cause it is flat, warm, shark-free and I am sur­rounded by fel­low At­las peo­ple. You re­cently ran the half at the 7 Sun­shine Coast Marathon Fes­ti­val and then backed it up with the 10km with your daugh­ters, how was that ex­pe­ri­ence: Af­ter I had fin­ished the half I was on a bit of a high and thought I will ac­com­pany my daugh­ters for maybe 2km, but then I felt so good and just kept go­ing. Love train­ing and rac­ing with my kids. Best thing ever. Best or most mem­o­rable event: My first iron-dis­tance in Roth in 2000, be­cause my brother, fa­ther and hus­band did it too. Bucket-list event: Great Wall of China Marathon.

Favourite race: Roth ( I have done it four times, and once as a re­lay with my dad).

What’s your favourite part of rac­ing and train­ing: I love the Wed­nes­day track ses­sions with At­las and their Satur­day rides be­cause the peo­ple are all very en­cour­ag­ing and lovely. My favourite part in rac­ing is rack­ing the bike, be­cause now I can’t get a punc­ture any­more!

What does a train­ing week look like for you: Three swim­ming ses­sions, three run­ning ses­sions (one long one), two or three bike rides (one long one), and two core strength ses­sions. What is next on your rac­ing agenda: World champs 70.3 in Chat­tanooga in Septem­ber.

How do you man­age to fit in train­ing with work and life com­mit­ments: Get up early and get it done.

If you could have a celebrity live with you, who would it be and why: Ryan Gosling be­cause I would love to dis­cuss world af­fairs with him.

When you were lit­tle what job did you want to do: Teacher. Best movie: Cool Run­nings and Ed­die the Ea­gle.

Cur­rent car: VW Touareg. Dream car: Any self-clean­ing car that doesn’t need a fuel stop, mean­while Porsche 911.

PHO­TOS: CON­TRIB­UTED

Inna Atkinson with her fa­ther Al­win Kiesel.

Inna (sec­ond from right) with her daugh­ter Nina, close friend Ginny Brooks and daugh­ter Leyla.

Inna on the bike.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.