Time trial champs suc­cess

Multisport Mecca - - News - Mel Kee­ble

A STRONG team of Sun­shine Coast rid­ers made the trip to North Strad­broke Is­land on Au­gust 19-20 for the Queens­land State In­di­vid­ual and Team Time Trial Cham­pi­onships.

Twenty-two Coast rid­ers joined more than 300 com­peti­tors, plus an es­ti­mated 500 spec­ta­tors, of­fi­cials and sup­port crews, at the cham­pi­onships be­ing held for the first time on North Strad­broke Is­land.

Based at Dun­wich, cy­clists raced over a chal­leng­ing course to­wards Amity Point and Point Look­out over dis­tances be­tween 20km and 80km.

Kaden Groves pro­duced an­other out­stand­ing ride to win the Elite Men’s ti­tle on Satur­day with an av­er­age speed of 43kmh in the tough and windy con­di­tions. His clos­est ri­val was al­most two min­utes be­hind.

Kaden’s win comes on the back dom­i­nant per­for­mances over the past month, in­clud­ing wins at the Charles Coin Memorial and Cun­ning­ham Clas­sic.

Cathy Scott is the new State Time Trial Cham­pion in the Mas­ters Women 6 di­vi­sion, win­ning by over seven min­utes. Sue Din­gas put in a strong ride to fin­ish third in the Mas­ters Women 4 di­vi­sion with an av­er­age speed of 34kmh. Ali Thomas fin­ished in third place in the Mas­ters Women 5 di­vi­sion.

Ja­son Ford claimed sec­ond place in the Mas­ters Men 5 di­vi­sion, three sec­onds be­hind the win­ner. Shaun Phillip­son was third in the Mas­ter Men 2 di­vi­sion.

Ocker Hen­ning was less than 30 sec­onds from tak­ing the top step of the podium in the Un­der-19 Men’s race. Ocker fin­ished in third place in front of fel­low Coast rid­ers Taj Jones, Sut­ton Hen­ning and Luke Matthews.

The Un­der-23 Men’s ti­tle was a show­down of the fastest young rid­ers with Bris­bane’s Oliver Smith claim­ing the ti­tle. Fol­low­ing close be­hind were Sun­shine Coast rid­ers Ryan Ca­vanagh (sec­ond), Jonathon No­ble (third), Pa­trick Kennedy (fourth) and Jake van der Vliet (sixth).

A num­ber of rid­ers backed up on the Sun­day for the Team Time Trial Cham­pi­onships.

Kaden claimed his sec­ond state cham­pi­onship in two days win­ning the Elite Men’s team time trial. Kaden joined with Kyle Bridg­wood, Ryan Ca­vanagh and

Michael Ryan to take the win with an av­er­age speed of close to 49kmh.

Sue Din­gas and Cathy Scott teamed up with Sherry Ey (Bund­aberg Cy­cling Club) and Leah Roberts (Moreton Bay Cy­cling Club) to win the Mas­ters Wom­ens 4 di­vi­sion.


Ocker Hen­ning was third in the un­der-19 time trial.


Cathy Scott claimed the Mas­ters 6 win.


The Sun­shine Coast Cy­cling Club time trial team of Kaden Groves, Ryan Ca­vanagh, Michael Ryan and Kyle Bridg­wood.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.