Top honour as Hawk ties for medal

Narrogin Observer - - Front Page - Laura Gru­bisa

Nar­ro­gin Hawks’ Cam Al­li­son has brought home the Up­per Great South­ern Football League’s most pres­ti­gious award, the Leo Gra­ham Medal, ty­ing with Wil­liams’ Nathan Brav­ing­ton.

Cam Al­li­son of the Nar­ro­gin Hawks has come away with the Up­per Great South­ern Football League’s top honour, claim­ing the 2017 Leo Gra­ham Medal.

Al­li­son tied with Wil­liams player Nathan Brav­ing­ton af­ter they both fin­ished the count with 18 votes.

Al­li­son started the night slowly but af­ter 12 rounds found him­self one vote clear of Katan­ning’s Tim Ste­wart on top of the leader­board.

In the fi­nal round when Brav­ing­ton polled three votes, Al­li­son had to match those votes in a game where the Hawks lost to Wick­epin by two points.

He did just that and be­came Nar­ro­gin’s first Leo Gra­ham medal­list since 2006. Al­li­son was hon­oured to re­ceive the award.

“I re­ally want to thank my friends, fam­ily and team­mates,” he said.

“Es­pe­cially my cap­tain Per­rin Quar­ter­maine, coach Blair For­rest and club pres­i­dent Mike McMil­lan.”

Al­li­son’s cap­tain said he had al­ways pos­sessed a huge work ethic both on and off the field.

“He sets the stan­dard at train­ing and this year has set the stan­dard on-field with an amaz­ing sea­son,” Quar­ter­maine said.

“A tough in-and-un­der player, he is re­spected not only by his team­mates, but also op­po­si­tion play­ers.

“He has come a long way, from a C-grader with a bad at­ti­tude to a hard­ened tough tal­ented mid­fielder, and I couldn’t be more thrilled for him to win this award.”

For­rest said he had pro­duced an out­stand­ing sea­son with con­sis­tent per­for­mances through­out the year.

“I love play­ing along­side him as you know he will give 100 per cent at ev­ery con­test and he is al­ways look­ing to im­prove him­self from week to week,” he said. “He is a very de­serv­ing win­ner.” Nar­ro­gin Hawks also came away with two other awards — Ralph Kick­ett tied for goal kicker of the year with Katan­ning’s Mitchell Banks on 66 goals, and Peter For­rest was named the WACFL Vol­un­teer of the Year.

Pic­ture: Laura Gru­bisa

Pic­tures: Laura Gru­bisa

Nathan Brav­ing­ton was joint-win­ner of the UGSFL 2017 Leo Gra­ham Medal.

Blair For­rest ac­cepted Cam Al­li­son's medal be­cause he couldn’t at­tend.

Peter For­rest won the WACFL Vol­un­teer of the Year award.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.