Nar­ro­gin stu­dents say farewell

Narrogin Observer - - Front Page - Laura Gru­bisa

The Year 12 stu­dents at Nar­ro­gin Se­nior High School had waited six long years for their pre­sen­ta­tion night, which sig­nalled the end of their ed­u­ca­tion at the school be­fore WACE ex­ams start.

The night was held at the school gym last week with more than 500 mem­bers of fam­ily, fac­ulty and com­mu­nity mem­bers in at­ten­dance.

There were mu­si­cal per­for­mances from the school band, vo­cal­ists Ca­reese Ranieri, As­tine Van Wyk, Ni­cole Davies and Ge­orgie McKen- zie, as well as a pi­ano duet from Kiara Screaigh and McKen­zie.

For­mer Nar­ro­gin SHS stu­dent and cur­rent head of Bas­ket­ball Aus­tralia Ned Coten was the guest speaker for the evening.

He told the grad­u­at­ing class that his coun­try ed­u­ca­tion helped get him to where he was to­day.

David Hal­lam was named as the 2017 dux while Toby Nicholas was run­ner-up by the small­est of mar­gins and the VET dux was Rhi­an­non Crane. David was also vale­dic­to­rian and gave an ad­dress which chal­lenged the au­di­ence to keep try­ing and not be afraid of a failed at­tempt.

Seven other awards were pre­sented, with Bradley O’Neill named Sports­man of the Year, Abbey Wil­son win­ning the ADF Long Tan Award, Pa­trick Arm­strong claim­ing the Lorna Met­zke English Award, Pippa Bairstow was Sportswoman of the Year, Ge­or­gia Earn­shaw earned the Fe­male Cit­i­zen­ship Award, Kyle Fair­head won the Male Cit­i­zen­ship Award and Meg Con­way was named the Cal­tex Best All Rounder.

The school thanked the lo­cal com­mu­nity for their do­na­tions and sup­port for the pre­sen­ta­tion night.

Pic­tures: Cher­ished Im­ages by Prema

Shire pres­i­dent Leigh Bal­lard with dux and vale­dic­to­rian David Hal­lam.

Prin­ci­pal Steve Quar­ter­maine with dux run­ner-up Toby Ni­cholas.

Stu­dent ser­vices man­ager Alistair Potts presents the Vet Dux award to Rhi­an­non Crane.

Leigh Bal­lard with Cal­tex Best All Rounder Meg Con­way.

Damion John­son presents the ADF Long Tan Award to Abbey Wil­son.

Guest speaker and for­mer Nar­ro­gin SHS stu­dent Ned Coten.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.