Fond farewell to our Year 12 ‘fam­ily’

Narrogin Observer - - News - Michael Traill

Nar­ro­gin Se­nior High School farewelled their 2018 Year 12 co­hort last Fri­day night, with the cus­tom­ary awards be­ing handed out to the group’s top achiev­ers.

Head girl Janka Reyn­ders was crowned dux of the school and Anri van Niek­erk was the school’s run­nerup dux.

“A big thank you to all the teach­ers. Ev­ery day they make sure kids have ev­ery op­por­tu­nity to achieve their po­ten­tial,” Ms Reyn­ders said. “That’s re­ally a self­less act.” Vo­ca­tional Ed­u­ca­tion and Train­ing Dux in Me­mory of Yvonne He­hir was awarded to Eadon Wood­ford.

Maddi An­drews was the run­ner-up Vo­ca­tional Ed­u­ca­tion and Train­ing Dux in Me­mory of Mark Davis.

Nathan Spooner and Court­ney Perkins re­ceived the Sports­man and Sportswoman of the Year awards, re­spec­tively.

Fe­male and Male Cit­i­zen of the Year awards went to Brook­lyn Dray­ton and Sa­muel Li­cence, re­spec­tively.

Ben­jamin Bat­t­ley was pre­sented with NSHS’ Best All Rounder, the ADF Long Tan Lead­er­ship and Team­work Awards was won by Yani Garnier.

Jor­dyn Mor­ton was the vale­dic­to­rian.

Prin­ci­pal Melissa Walker said the year group has big po­ten­tial.

“I’ve got to know them pretty well, they are the type of year group that have got huge spunk about them,” she said.

“They’re so in­clu­sive of each other, they just a strong co­hort of stu­dents that you’d de­scribe as a fam­ily rather than a co­hort; they re­ally look out for each other.

“Huge amount of po­ten­tial there, what ever they choose to do, they’ll achieve it.

“They’ve got the tenac­ity to stick to it and get it done, quite a coura­geous group of kids.”

Ms Walker also said that in her first year at the school, the Year 12s taught her what NSHS was about.

“They re­ally took on a spe­cial and im­por­tant role in lead­ing the school,” she said.

Back: Sa­muel Li­cence, Matthew van Schalk­wyk, Ben Bat­t­ley and Bren­nan Pratt. Front: Anri Van Niek­erk, Janka Reyn­ders (head girl), Melissa Walker (prin­ci­pal) Mar­shall Bowey (head boy) and Jas­mine Cant.

Peter Haas and Yani Garnier.

Fred Steer and Sa­muel Li­cence.

Lochlan Horobin-La­van and Kaleb Tip­ton.

Sandi Stankovic and Nathan Spooner.

Melissa Walker and Janka Reyn­ders.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.