NPFL stars awarded

North West Telegraph - - Front Page - Tay­lar Amonini

The Whim Creek Ho­tel was full to the brim at the week­end as footballers from across the Pil­bara came to­gether for the North Pil­bara Foot­ball League’s presentation lunch.

At­ten­dees en­joyed a buf­fet lunch, bev­er­ages and ban­ter as the points were counted to de­cide the win­ner of the highly soughtafter Colin Peter Mathe­son Medal and the De Grey Medal.

Af­ter a stel­lar sea­son, Wick­ham Wolves’ Tim Ren­ton was awarded the De Grey Medal for the sec­ond time in his Wolves ca­reer, coming away with 19 votes for the sea­son. Kar­ratha Kats’ Brae­don Al­li­son was three votes be­hind and run­ner-up.

“Its an hon­our to win this award as al­ways — there are plenty of good play­ers out there and to be judged the best and get 19 votes is re­ally hum­bling,” Ren­ton said.

“I just want to thank the North Pil­bara Foot­ball League, spon­sors and the um­pires.

“With­out those guys we wouldn’t have a com­pe­ti­tion.”

Re­serves player Josh Stan­ley of Kar­ratha Fal­cons took out the

Colin Peter Mathe­son Medal with 10 votes, fol­lowed closely by Shaun Der­schow and An­ton Bilic with eight votes each.

Kar­ratha Kats’ Shaun Der­schow was the lead­ing goal kicker for the re­serves with 48 ma­jors from 15 rounds, while Wick­ham Wolves’ Claude Tay­lor se­cured the league hon­ours with 36.

With a strong history in the North Pil­bara Foot­ball League, in­clud­ing win­ning six De Grey Medals and fin­ish­ing run­ner-up twice, Michael For­manczyk was hon­oured for his foot­balling achieve­ments and given a life mem­ber­ship.

“To get a life mem­ber­ship for the as­so­ci­a­tion, you don’t hear it that of­ten — only re­ally the guys that have been around for a long time,” he said.

“It’s one of those things you just en­joy.

“Foot­ball is your life as a young fella and I think now that I’m just over 200 games it goes real quick.

“To re­ceive this life mem­ber­ship for the as­so­ci­a­tion, I feel quite proud at my­self and also the fam­ily as well.”

Not to be left out, two NPFL um­pires were hon­oured for their hard work.

Phil Davies won the golden whis­tle award and Kir­win Vin­cent the ris­ing star award.

A spe­cial award was also given to Rod Bar­den — the NPFL vol­un­teer award — for his ded­i­ca­tion to um­pir­ing.

Colin Peter Mathe­son Medal-win­ner Josh Stan­ley with NPFL pres­i­dent Greg Braith­waite.

Rod Bar­den, win­ner of the NPFL vol­un­teer award and Kir­win Vin­cent win­ner of the ris­ing star award.

League lead­ing goal kicker Claude Tay­lor. Pic­tures: Tay­lar Amonini

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.