Origin of iconic bulldog sign
THE first use of the bulldog as a corporate symbol was on a sheet metal plate riveted to each side of the cab.
It was first drawn on June 3, 1921, and released, printed and specified for the AB chain drive (CD) and dual reduction (DR) carrier drive trucks.
The plate depicts a bulldog with Mack on his collar chewing up a book entitled Hauling Costs.
Early in 1932, then chief engineer Alfred Fellows Masury was admitted to the Allentown Hospital, Pennsylvania in the US for an operation.
Mr Masury was an industrious man who always had to keep busy by ‘‘doing something’’.
Some say the first model of the Mack Bulldog was carved from a bar of soap and others say the first was carved out of wood.
The first wooden model is proudly displayed at the Mack Customer Center, Allentown.
The first three-dimensional Bulldog radiator filler cap ornament was drawn up in 1932.
The patent for this design is on file in the museum archives in Allentown.
It was issued on April 25, 1932. The ornament was placed on the hood of all Mack vehicles beginning in 1932.