Award first at LRTAV con­fer­ence

Owner Driver - - Owner / Driver -

MC Herd in Gee­long has been an­nounced as the win­ner of the in­au­gu­ral Shane Knight Me­mo­rial Award at the Live­stock and Ru­ral Trans­porters As­so­ci­a­tion of Vic­to­ria (LRTAV) An­nual Con­fer­ence held at the RACV Torquay Re­sort on Au­gust 11 and 12.

The award was cre­ated to hon­our the mem­ory of Shane Knight who passed away in 2016 af­ter a short bat­tle with can­cer.

Knight’s wife, Jea­nine Knight, who spoke about her late hus­band’s pas­sion for safety dur­ing the con­fer­ence, pre­sented the award to John Karounos, op­er­a­tions man­ager for MC Herd.

Karounos was in­stru­men­tal in the com­pany’s in­stal­la­tion of a Piv­ot­ing Ac­cess Land­ing (PAL) frame that en­ables driv­ers to safely un­load cat­tle at their pro­cess­ing site.

MC Herd also re­ceived the 2016 WorkSafe Vic­to­ria Award for Best So­lu­tion to a Health and Safety Is­sue for in­stalling the PAL frame, which elim­i­nates the risk of driver’s fall­ing from height and be­ing in a con­fined space with live­stock while un­load­ing cat­tle.

The LRTAV says the Shane Knight Me­mo­rial Award re­flects the as­so­ci­a­tion’s de­sire to recog­nise those or­gan­i­sa­tions or in­di­vid­u­als who make a sig­nif­i­cant im­prove­ment to safety for driv­ers in the live­stock and ru­ral trans­port in­dus­try, some­thing that Knight was very pas­sion­ate about.

Knight was a mem­ber of the LRTAV for 29 years and was pre­sented with a life mem­ber­ship in 2013.

In 2015 Knight re­ceived the LRTAV’s in­au­gu­ral award for Out­stand­ing Con­tri­bu­tion to the Live­stock and Ru­ral Trans­port In­dus­try for his con­tri­bu­tion to the Aus­tralian Live­stock and Ru­ral Trans­porters As­so­ci­a­tion (ALRTA) Guide for Safe De­sign of Live­stock Load­ing Ramps and Forc­ing Yards.

Knight also served on the ex­ec­u­tive of the LRTAV and com­mit­tees in the ALRTA for many years.

LRTAV pres­i­dent Graham How­ell said that Knight, to­gether with LRTAV vice pres­i­dent John Beer, had spent a lot of time work­ing with the frame de­signer and man­u­fac­turer ProWay Live­stock Equip­ment to get the de­sign right.

How­ell added that the LRTAV hoped it would help raise the aware­ness of how sig­nif­i­cantly the Piv­ot­ing Ac­cess Load­ing Frame can im­prove safety and hope­fully, it can be­come com­mon­place and best prac­tice at all sites where cat­tle are un­loaded.

The other award win­ners dur­ing the LRTAV con­fer­ence were Dean Clarke from NSW-based Hop­kins Trans­port and Neil Winslade from O’Sul­li­van’s Trans­port in El­more.

Winslade was named the year’s LRTAV Young Driver of the Year, win­ning prizes val­ued at $ 4000.

Clarke won the 2017 Safety In­no­va­tion Award by the Aus­tralian Live­stock and Ru­ral Trans­porters As­so­ci­a­tion (ALRTA) and the Na­tional Heavy Ve­hi­cle Reg­u­la­tor (NHVR).

The award recog­nised Clarke’s ef­forts in em­pha­sis­ing the need to ex­e­cute cor­rect and con­sis­tent safe op­er­at­ing pro­ce­dures through the roll­out of a com­pany-wide safety ini­tia­tive pro­gram at Hop­kins Trans­port.

John Karounos ac­cepts the Shane Knight Me­mo­rial Award from Jea­nine Knight

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.