NatRoad hon­ours high achiev­ers

Owner Driver - - News -

NATROAD HAS awarded mem­bers who made sig­nif­i­cant achieve­ments in the truck­ing in­dus­try dur­ing the 2017 NatRoad An­nual Con­fer­ence on Hamil­ton Is­land in Septem­ber.

Held dur­ing the Gala Din­ner, the awards night kicked off with ac­knowl­edge­ments for long-serv­ing NatRoad mem­bers as Aussie leg­end and ‘Lam­bas­sador’ Sam Kekovich kept the crowd in hys­ter­ics.

“Truck­ing is the nip­ple that nur­tures our na­tion,” Kekovich joked as he preached about the im­por­tance of road trans­port both in the past, as well as into the future.

Zachary Ap­ple­ton, 23, from Mur­rell Freight Ser­vices, took out the cov­eted Young Driver of the Year award af­ter work­ing his way from a forklift driver through to a B-dou­ble op­er­a­tor in just 18 months.

“With an age­ing work­force, recognising up-and-com­ing youth in the truck­ing in­dus­try has never been more im­por­tant,” NatRoad CEO War­ren Clark says.

“I per­son­ally con­grat­u­late Zachary, who I’m sure is looking for­ward to a bright future in the in­dus­try.”

Bruce Adam from J R McDon­ald Trans­port took out the 2017 Pro­fes­sional Driver of the Year award and in his ac­cep­tance speech had the au­di­ence in awe of his hu­mil­ity and deep re­spect for truck­ing.

“Hav­ing cov­ered 4,700,000km in his ca­reer with the loss of only three de­merit points, Bruce has proved to be an im­pec­ca­ble driver who proves his wor­thi­ness for this award with ev­ery day on the job,” Clark says.

The Ted Pick­er­ing Memo­rial Award for Out­stand­ing Con­tri­bu­tion to the Aus­tralian Road Freight In­dus­try was pre­sented to John Mor­ris, who has be­come known in re­cent years for work­ing with road trans­port com­mit­tees and groups, win­ning the ear of prime min­is­ters, trans­port min­is­ters and other de­ci­sion mak­ers.

“Each year we take plea­sure in recognising out­stand­ing mem­bers of the truck­ing community, and this year is no dif­fer­ent,” Clark says.

“It is a priv­i­lege to recog­nise these note­wor­thy award-win­ners”.

Young Driver of the Year, Zachary Ap­ple­ton from Mur­rell Freight Ser­vices. Photo by Romy Buller­jahn

2017 Pro­fes­sional Driver of the Year, Bruce Adam from J R McDon­ald Trans­port. Photo by Romy Buller­jahn

‘Lam­bas­sador’ Sam Kekovich

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.