The elec­tion race is on

Pilbara News - - News - Peter de Krui­jff

■ Five Pil­bara coun­cil­lors have been elected un­op­posed in the first lo­cal gov­ern­ment elec­tion re­sults for the City of Kar­ratha and the Shire of Ash­bur­ton.

No­tably, two cur­rent deputies faced no con­tenders with Dampier Ward rep­re­sen­ta­tive and City Deputy Mayor John Lally and Parabur­doo Ward’s deputy Shire pres­i­dent Lin­ton Rum­ble both in for four-year terms.

Lorraine Thomas from the Table­lands Ward and Peter Foster from the Tom Price Ward were both elected for another term.

Glen Del­lar stood alone and has hopes of bring­ing a pas­toral per­spec­tive to the Ash­bur­ton Ward, which was va­cated by Anne Eyre.

Mr Del­lar has been a ratepayer since 1983 and lives on Wy­loo Sta­tion be­tween Nanu­tarra and Parabur­doo.

The seat to watch this year will be the Shire of Ash­bur­ton’s Onslow Ward, where in­cum­bent pres­i­dent Kerry White will be up against Onslow Cham­ber of Com­merce and In­dus­try pres­i­dent Ge­of­frey He­bert.

Dennis Wright is re­tir­ing from his seat of Pan­na­won­ica.

Me­lanie Gal­lanagh, a sec­ond-gen­er­a­tion Pan­na­won­ica res­i­dent, is con­test­ing the seat along­side met­al­lur­gist Colin Sum­ner and jour­nal­ist Corinna Lacey.

A reshuf­fle of the ward bound­aries for the Kar­ratha lo­cal gov­ern­ment means there are now five seats up for grabs in the up­com­ing elec­tion which will be held by postal vote, with re­sults on Oc­to­ber 17.

The field of can­di­dates is 15 deep, with Mayor Peter Long and Coun­cil­lor David Hip­worth both putting their hands up for re-elec­tion.

For­mer coun­cil­lor Mar­garet Bertling has de­cided to have another crack af­ter a two-year hia­tus, while re­tir­ing coun­cil­lor Ja­nine Miller’s son Daniel is hav­ing his first go at lo­cal pol­i­tics.

The rest of the hope­fuls in­clude for­mer air­craft me­chan­i­cal engi­neer Kris­ten Johns, Busi­ness Cen­tre chief ex­ec­u­tive Paul Jag­ger, youth sec­tor worker Julie Pope, speech pathol­o­gist Irene Long, 2013 citizen of the Year Grant Cu­cel, busi­ness owner Daniel Scott, ed­u­ca­tion worker Lessa But­ler, board di­rec­tor of sev­eral or­gan­i­sa­tions Penny Lit­tle, mecha­tron­ics engi­neer Jared Fitz­clarence, jus­tice of the peace Geral­dine Burgess, and bar owner Bart Par­sons.

Three can­di­dates are vy­ing for the Wick­ham/Point Sam­son/Roe­bourne/Cos­sack/Pas­toral Ward.

Cr Garry Bai­ley has de­cided to run again, but should have an in­ter­est­ing bat­tle.

Cr Bai­ley is the Roe­bourne Ward coun­cil­lor, but will now face elec­tors from a wider catch­ment.

His com­pe­ti­tion is Beth Smith, who picked up an award at this year’s Roe­bour ne Un­sung He­roes night.

For­mer Roe­bourne Golf Club pres­i­dent Mar­cus Tutt from Wick­ham is the third can­di­date, who will be hop­ing to poll well given the large num­ber of vot­ers in his town.

Pic­ture: Court­ney Fowler

City of Kar­ratha Deputy Mayor John Lally was re-elected un­op­posed.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.