Five vie for con­tested wards

Pilbara News - - News - Court­ney Fowler and Peter de Krui­jff

■ The nom­i­na­tions are locked in as a group of new peo­ple start their cam­paigns to be­come Shire of Ash­bur­ton coun­cil­lors.

Four coun­cil­lors have al­ready been elected un­op­posed in the first lo­cal gov­ern­ment elec­tion re­sults.

Parabur­doo Ward’s Lin­ton Rum­ble faced no con­tender, elected for a four-year term. Lorraine Thomas, of the Table­lands Ward, and Peter Foster, of the Tom Price Ward, were both elected.

Wy­loo Sta­tion’s Glen Del­lar stood un­op­posed for the Ash­bur­ton Ward, which was va­cated by Anne Eyre.

Five can­di­dates are still in the run­ning for two seats up for grabs — one in the Onslow Ward and one in the Pan­na­won­ica Ward.

Dennis Wright has re­tired from Pan­na­won­ica Ward, which is be­ing con­tested by sec­ond-gen­er­a­tion res­i­dent Me­lanie Gal­lanagh, along­side met­al­lur­gist Colin Sum­ner and jour­nal­ist Corinna Lacey.

The seat to watch this year will be the Onslow Ward, where in­cum­bent pres­i­dent Kerry White will be up against Onslow Cham­ber of Com­merce and In­dus­try pres­i­dent Ge­of­frey Herbert.

Of the re­main­ing can­di­dates, only Ms White has pre­vi­ous ex­pe­ri­ence as a coun­cil­lor.

The Pil­bara News talked with the five re­main­ing can­di­dates to find out their back­ground and what changes they would like to make to their wards if suc­cess­fully elected.

Their fate will be de­cided at the Shire elec­tions on Satur­day, Oc­to­ber 17. I am a met­al­lur­gist with Rio Tinto and Pan­na­won­ica res­i­dent of three years.

I am a mar­ried fa­ther of five chil­dren, all liv­ing in Pan­na­won­ica, and I’m keen to rep­re­sent Pan­na­won­i­cans to en­sure we get a fair share of Shire re­sources and to voice the opin­ions of its res­i­dents con­cern­ing is­sues unique to liv­ing and work­ing in the re­mote Pil­bara.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.