Third term for Onslow’s White

Pilbara News - - Local Elections - Pe­ter de Krui­jff

The town of Onslow has thrown its em­phatic sup­port be­hind in­cum­bent Shire of Ash­bur­ton pres­i­dent Kerry White in the lo­cal gov­ern­ment elec­tions at the week­end.

Cr White was up for her third term on the coun­cil and matched up against the Onslow Cham­ber of Com­merce and Industry pres­i­dent Ge­off Her­bert. She gar­nered 148 votes (68.8 per cent) to Mr Her­bert’s 67.

Cr White was pleased as punch with the re­sult and said she was thank­ful to the com­mu­nity for hav­ing the con­fi­dence to re-elect her.

“I will try my best for the next four years,” she said.

Ct White said her ap­proach would be busi­ness as usual and to make sure the com­mu­nity was happy.

Onslow had one of the high­est voter turnouts by per­cent­age in the State, with 55.24 per cent vot­ing.

Up the road in Pan­na­won­ica, the three-horse race for the seat va­cated by Den­nis “Stretch” Wright was won by sec­ond-gen­er­a­tion res­i­dent Me­lanie Gal­lanagh. She won by a sin­gle vote — 29 votes to Colin Sum­ner’s 28. Corinna Lacey had 16 votes. In­cum­bent deputy pres­i­dent Lin­ton Rum­ble, of Parabur­doo, Pe­ter Fos­ter, of Tom Price, and Lor­rain Thomas, of the Table­land ward, were re­elected un­op­posed.

New coun­cil­lor-elect Glen Del­lar was also elected un­op­posed in the Ash­bur­ton ward.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.