Two new faces, two old hands win Ex­mouth poll

Pilbara News - - Local Elections - Bran­wen Smith

Two new and two re­turn­ing coun­cil­lors have been elected at the Shire of Ex­mouth elec­tions.

Shane Coote will serve a fouryear term af­ter gar­ner­ing nearly 25 per cent of the 2324 votes.

Sue McHutchi­son and James Roscic were also voted in to serve un­til 2019.

Mick Hood will serve a twoyear term af­ter scrap­ing in by 11 votes.

Ms McHutchi­son and Mr Hood are re­turn­ing to coun­cil, while Mr Coote and Mr Roscic will be the new faces around the ta­ble.

The four suc­cess­ful can­di­dates will be sworn in to join coun­cil­lors Turk Shales and Bob Todd at a spe­cial meet­ing tonight.

The coun­cil will then elect a pres­i­dent and vice-pres­i­dent and will al­lo­cate the port­fo­lios.

Shire of Ex­mouth chief ex­ec­u­tive Bill Price said he looked for­ward to coun­cil in­put on projects on the hori­zon such as the Nin­ga­loo Cen­tre, multi-pur­pose deep­wa­ter port, race track, ser­vice worker af­ford­able hous­ing and the defence hub.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.