Rebels deny Crush­ers in T20 thriller

Pilbara News - - Pilbara Sport - Morg­wyn Jones

Rebels had a re­mark­able win against Crush­ers to claim the Fortes­cue Cricket As­so­ci­a­tion Twenty20 premier­ship last month.

The two teams had al­ready faced off in the last round be­fore fi­nals in a game that would de­cide the top three. Crush­ers dis­missed Rebels for 86 and claimed the top spot while the lat­ter dropped to third.

How­ever, Crush­ers vice-cap­tain and lead­ing bats­man Chris Bet­te­ley suf­fered a se­ri­ous ham­string in­jury early in the Rebels in­nings.

In the pre­lim­i­nary fi­nal, Rebels eas­ily chased down a daunt­ing 3180 set by Parabur­doo Saints with an un­likely five overs to spare.

Jay­den Ben­nell and Kerry Sweet­man re­ally hit their straps, go­ing at 12.5 runs an over for the first seven overs be­fore Ben­nell was dis­missed.

Sweet­man con­tin­ued on his merry way, play­ing some great as Rebels earned a re­match against Crush­ers.

In the grand fi­nal Crush­ers got off to solid start as Joshua Par­sons took 15 runs off one Willy Nona over.

But that would be all the runs Par­son would get as Nona had the last laugh dis­miss­ing him soon af­ter.

Craig Jones (25) con­tin­ued his good form and was well sup­ported by Jye McLaugh­lin (21) as Crush­ers looked to launch in the last six overs.

Good death bowl­ing from Rebels pre­vented any ma­jor dam­age as they re­stricted Crush­ers to 9-128.

Justin Daw­son and Nona picked up three wick­ets apiece.

In re­ply, Rebels got off to a slow start as the bowl­ing of Jones un­der lights was prov­ing dif­fi­cult to face and skip­per Jono Arnott was keep­ing it tight at the other end.

Jones dis­missed the dan­ger­ous Jay­den Ben­nell and Jon Arnott got rid of Sweet­man to have Rebels reel­ing. And when Dar­ren Scott clean-bowled Nona, Crush­ers were up and about.

But Daw­son came in and clubbed 31 in quick time to get Rebels back in the match. It was com­ing down to the wire with 20 runs still needed off the last two overs.

The penul­ti­mate over from McLaugh­lin went for 12 leav­ing Chris Pi­lot on strike to vet­eran Dar­ren Scott and need­ing eight off six balls to win the T20 Premier­ship.

Pi­lot just cleared the field­s­man on the cir­cle to hit the first ball for four and the same on the next ball as he steered Rebels to a re­mark­able vic­tory.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.