Awards hon­our clubs’ best

Pilbara News - - Sport - Ali­cia Per­era

North Pil­bara Foot­ball League clubs are still wrap­ping up the 2017 sea­son with awards nights to ac­knowl­edge their stand-out play­ers and con­trib­u­tors.

Wick­ham Wolves and Kar­ratha Kats held their pre­sen­ta­tion nights late last month, af­ter events by the Dampier Sharks, Kar­ratha Fal­cons and Port Hed­land Rovers.

As this year’s NPFL league pre­miers, the Wick­ham Wolves had plenty to cel­e­brate at their club awards night, held at Ram­bla Bar on Septem­ber 16.

Hav­ing won top NPFL hon­our the De Grey Medal in Au­gust, team cap­tain Tim Ren­ton capped off a dream sea­son, also col­lect­ing his club’s best and fairest league player award on a run­away tally of 115 votes.

Ash­ley Grove was the run­ner-up on 90 votes.

Mem­bers of the Tay­lor fam­ily were also stand-outs on the night, with Claude Tay­lor ac­knowl­edged for his stel­lar goal kick­ing ef­forts this sea­son with the league team’s best goal kicker prize, and his son Ken­dall awarded the most con­sis­tent player award.

In the re­serves squad, Anto Bilic was named the team’s fairest and best with a to­tal of 67 votes, coming in ahead of run­ner-up Alby Man­gles on 49, while Ko­hen Twi­dle took home the most con­sis­tent player award.

Among the other awards pre­sented on the night, long-term Wolves player Richie Helse­wood, who cel­e­brated a mile­stone 300 games this sea­son, also pre­sented a most promis­ing club ju­nior prize named in his hon­our to young gun Deon Carr.

An­other club which saw NPFL suc­cess this year was the Kar­ratha Kats, which had its pre­sen­ta­tion night on Satur­day, Septem­ber 23.

In the league com­pe­ti­tion, the Til­brook Medal for fairest and best went to Ben Main, who was heads and shoul­ders above the com­pe­ti­tion with 61 votes.

His clos­est com­pe­ti­tion was run­ner-up Braedan Al­li­son, who scored a 31-vote to­tal.

As the NPFL’s 2017 re­serves pre­miers, the vote count was tight in the Kats re­serves team and ended in a joint win for the fairest and best Couper Medal.

Ash­ton Till and Jack­son Davey shared the prize be­tween them af­ter record­ing 19 votes each.

They were closely fol­lowed by run­ners-up Ryan Powles and Cur­tis Doughty, both on 18 votes.

An­other fea­ture of the night was the club be­ing pre­sented with an orig­i­nal Clive Til­brook guernsey as a piece of mem­o­ra­bilia.

The South Hed­land Swans will hold their pre­sen­ta­tion night on October 14.

Pic­tures: Wick­ham Wolves/Face­book

Wick­ham Wolves play­ers at the 2017 club pre­sen­ta­tion night.

Kats league fairest and best win­ner Ben Main with the Clive Til­brook orig­i­nal jumper pre­sented to the club at their awards night.

Wolves league player Ken­dall Tay­lor with his award for most con­sis­tent player.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.