Peel cy­cling club awards

Pinjarra Murray Times - - FRONT PAGE - Nick Cowie

CY­CLISTS were cel­e­brated at the Peel Dis­trict Cy­cling Club Awards on Satur­day.

With more than 80 awards spread over time tri­als, cri­teri­ums, road races and five dif­fer­ent grades, there were a few names that ap­peared reg­u­larly.

In time tri­als, Colin Rose won sum­mer time trial se­ries over­all and fastest time award. He also won the time­keep­ers time trial on stan­dard (age based time), sec­ond fastest time as well as sec­ond over­all and sec­ond fastest time in the hilly time trial.

Conor Leahy was fastest rider in the time­keep­ers time trial and took the win and fastest time in the hilly time trial.

Leahy also showed his ver­sa­til­ity win­ning the A grade cri­terium cham­pi­onship, with un­der 17 rider Oliver Bled­dyn win­ning the B grade and Luke Colum the C grade cri­terium cham­pi­onship.

Alis­tair Milne won the Lara Devenish Me­mo­rial Tro­phy for the most com­bat­ive rider dur­ing the last ring round at Smeaton Way in Fe­bru­ary.

The Pres­i­dent’s Cup was awarded to Jor­dan Daw­son, who also won the fastest time award and best un­der 17 rider. Oliver Bled­dyn fin­ished third, had the sec­ond fastest time and was sec­ond un­der 17 rider.

In the road race cham­pi­onships, Theo Yates won A grade, Luke Colum won B grade and se­cured Road Rider of the Year for his con­sis­tent ef­fort. Jay Lin­dorff won C grade, was sec­ond in road rider of the year and took out the un­der 17 road rider award.

The sum­mer rac­ing se­ries starts with the Rock­ing­ham Beach Cup Golden Cup this Satur­day, be­fore the time trial se­ries kicks off on Sun­day 19 Novem­ber at Hopelands.

For more in­for­ma­tion, visit

Above: Luke Colum wins the B grade road race cham­pi­onship and se­cures Road Rider of the Year. Right: Alis­tair Milne re­cieves the Lara Devenish Me­moiral Tro­phy from Phil Devenish.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.