And I ran... Yates sprints to the line

Pinjarra Murray Times - - SPORT -

THE ini­tial Beach Cup Golden Cri­terium was on Satur­day and fea­tured a tight 850m cir­cuit on the Rock­ing­ham Beach fore­shore and cafe strip.

It was in­tended to run both a men’s and women’s elite race. How­ever, most of the best women rid­ers were in Perth par­tic­i­pat­ing in the Tour of Mar­garet River. The women’s race was con­verted to a sup­port race, open to un­der-17 boys and girls, as well as C grade men.

The re­sult was an en­ter­tain­ing race. Melissa Robin­son at­tacked on the sec­ond lap and built a small gap. Matthew Con­nan bridged the gap and the pair at­tempted to build a mar­gin.

Be­hind the pair, the pur­su­ing group lost rid­ers, un­til there were only three left. Dhar­lia Haines, Laura Hodges and Calum Milne worked to­gether and slowly closed the gap.

With five laps to go, Matthew Con­nan at­tacked and quickly got a gap, as everybody in the lead group looked at each other to chase. It took a lap for the chase to be­gin and that was in­ef­fec­tive. Con­nan was still in­creas­ing his lead.

Con­nan kept work­ing hard and took the out­right win and un­der-17 boys. Haines took out the sprint for sec­ond and top un­der-17 girl. Laura Hodges was third and first open women. Tom Power led the sec­ond group over the line for first C grade men.

While the women’s field was de­pleted, only a few elite men were miss­ing from the field. The rider pool was boosted by three rid­ers re­turn­ing from over­seas.

Stephen Hall, af­ter rac­ing the cri­terium cir­cuit in the US for six months with con­sid­er­able suc­cess, re­turned and won the State Road Race ti­tle.

Theo Yates had just re­turned from the Tour of Iran, where af­ter a num­ber of top 10 fin­ishes, he won the fi­nal stage.

Tyler Lin­dorff also made a come­back af­ter rep­re­sent­ing Aus­tralia at the un­der19 World Track Cham­pi­onships in Italy.

The at­tacks started early and af­ter a few laps it was Lo­gan Calder and Henry Penell in a break. Jack­son Mawby bridged across to them. Two laps to go Mawby was tir­ing, but he still had a handy gap over a slowly gain­ing chase.

In the three-rider sprint to the line it was Yates first, Hall sec­ond, Lin­dorff third and Mawby faded to sev­enth.

The next PDCC races are a time trial at Hopelands on Novem­ber 19 and a cri­terium at Smeaton Way, Rock­ing­ham on Novem­ber 26.

For more de­tails and the all the re­sults of the races, visit Nick Cowie Clock­wise from top: Theo Yates cel­e­brates his win. Dhar­lia Haines on the front of the chase group in the sup­port race. Melissa Robin­son and Matthew Con­nan in the early break of the sup­port race.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.