Com­mu­nity reps join mas­ter plan com­mit­tee

Port Douglas & Mossman Gazette - - NEWS -

SEVEN com­mu­nity rep­re­sen­ta­tives have been named to the Port Dou­glas Mas­ter Plan Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee. John Clif­ford, Ken Dobbs, Ray Legg, Toni McNamara, Tanya Mor­ris, Tony Purves and Doug Ryan will join di­vi­sion 10 councillor Ju­lia Leu, four Cairns Re­gional Coun­cil staff and three state govern­ment rep­re­sen­ta­tives. Cr Leu said she was pleased to have a wide range of sec­tors rep­re­sented on the com­mit­tee. “We have rep­re­sen­ta­tives from the busi­ness, tourism, en­vi­ron­men­tal, ma­rine sec­tors,” she said. “Now that we have an es­tab­lished and ac­cepted plan, the next stage is to en­sure it is im­ple­mented. There are a lot of things that can be done im­me­di­ately.” The com­mit­tee will hold its first meet­ing on Thurs­day 26 Au­gust. Cairns Re­gional Coun­cil has com­mit­ted $800,000 for im­ple­men­ta­tion of the plan in the 2010-11 bud­get, along with $400,000 from last year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.