Out­rig­gers pow­er­ing

Port Douglas & Mossman Gazette - - SPORT -

THE Port Dou­glas Outrig­ger Ca­noe Club pad­dled their way through the in­au­gu­ral re­gatta 2011 rac­ing sea­son last week­end.

The competition was hosted by the newly formed Dam Outrig­ger Ca­noe Club at Lake Ti­na­roo where teams from Port Dou­glas to Townsville, in­clud­ing 17 lo­cal row­ers, at­tended the first re­gatta in the re­gion.

The first medal of the day came in the Mas­ter women OC2 race, with a bronze medal won by Sonya Jor­dan and In­grid Juchem.With Faye Lilly win­ning gold in the se­nior mas­ter women OC1 and Glen Thorp and Justin Whyte bronze in the open men OC2.

Months of hard train­ing in the gym and on the wa­ter payed off for the Mas­ter Women crew, win­ning Sil­ver in the 250 me­ter. skins race, nar­rowly beaten by the Cairns team from Hek­ili.

Jackie Cookie, Danielle Bellero, Sonya Jor­dan, In­grid Juchem, Ce­cely Rid­der­hof and Lili Jensen then went on to win bronze in the 10 km Mara- thon race, miss­ing sec­ond place by only 3 sec­onds.

The se­nior mas­ter women team in­clud­ing Jane Ward, Jen­nifer Giles, Christine Bouwkamp at the first re­gatta, Faye Lilly, Leanne Grif­fith and Wendy Morris dom­i­nated their 10 km race win­ning gold in style.

Glen Thorp, Tim El­lis, Justin Whyte, Kevin Bellero, Bill Rid­der­hof and steerer Lilli Jensen made up the newly formed Open men’s crew.

Cheered on by the crowed, the team sprinted to the fin­ish­ing line in spec­tac­u­lar man­ner beat­ing the more ex­pe­ri­enced crew from Cairns Beaches by a sec­ond to clinch a fan­tas­tic 7th place in a very strong field.

Bill Rid­der­hof won fifth in the Golden mas­ter OC1, Justin Whyte won eight in the Mas­ter Men OC1, Glen Thorp won fourth in the Open Men OC1, Danielle Bellero and Lili Jansen won fifth in the Mas­ter women OC2, Danielle and Kevin Bellero won eighth in the Mas­ter Mixed OC2.

Pow­er­ing on: the Port Dou­glas mas­ters team

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.